Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce Records
VitalChek is the only Michigan Vital Records authorized online service provider. If you should experience problems with the online ordering, please call VitalChek at 866-443-9897 for assistance between 7:00 am - 7:00 pm, Monday - Friday, except for recognized holidays.
Order a Record Online
VitalChek also accepts phone orders. Valid photo ID (driver's license or pictured State ID card) is required. Please call 866-443-9897 to place an order by phone.
Michigan vital records orders placed online through VitalChek, Michigan's online service provider, are considered to be RUSH requests.
Processing time is 1-2 business days for a United Parcel Service (UPS) overnight delivery request and 2 weeks for a regular online request plus mail time back to the customer. A $12.00 RUSH fee will be charged for each online order, in addition to VitalChek's $11.50 credit card handling charge.
Note the following restrictions when ordering online or by phone through online vendor VitalChek:
Birth Records - Individuals can request their own birth record or a record of their child. Birth records that are 100 years or older can also now be ordered online.
- If you are requesting a birth record as an heir of a deceased individual, whose record is less than 100 years old, you must submit a request through the mail.
Heirloom Birth Records - Individuals can now order the new heirloom birth records (non-certified) online for themselves or their children. For more information regarding heirloom birth records and styles to choose from please click here.
Affidavit of Parentage Records - Individuals can now request Affidavit of Parentage records filed from June 1, 1997 to present. Records filed prior to June 1, 1997 please contact the Probate Court in the county where the mother resided at the time of signing, or the Probate Court in the county where the child was born.
Click here to Order a birth, death, marriage or divorce record online using a debit or credit card.
MCL 333.2894 Prohibited conduct. (1) A person shall not: (b) Wilfully and knowingly make a false statement in a vital record or report required to be filed under this code, or in an application for an amendment or for a certified copy of a vital record.
MCL 333.2898 Violation; penalty. A person who violates section 2894 or 2895 is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 1 year, or a fine of not more than $1,000.00, or both.
- Because of Michigan statute, you cannot order a birth record for your spouse. The spouse must place a SEPARATE ORDER for his/her own birth record.
- If you are eligible as the HEIR OF THE DECEASED PERSON named on the birth record that you are requesting, you will need to order by mail. You cannot use the online service to make your request. Please click on 'Order a Record By Mail' listed at the left to review the list of mail applications for requesting a birth certificate.