close print view
Reporting Feed TonnageForm PI-135: Statement of Commercial Feeds Manufactured or Distributed in Michigan and Inspection Fee Payment Report (Blank Form for MI Feed Tonnage)
Inspection fees are used to help pay for the commercial feed inspection and sampling activities of the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development (MDARD). MDARD routinely inspects manufacturers and distributors of animal feeds for compliance with labeling, sanitation and other requirements that protect consumers and enable fair competition. The MDARD Inspection staff also collects commercial feed samples that are tested for nutrients or animal drugs guaranteed on labels.
The inspection fees assessed to commercial feed manufacturers and distributors in Michigan are based on the quantity of feed distributed, rather than the number of products in a company's line. Twice a year, every licensee must pay the Department an inspection fee. The fee is levied on each ton of commercial feed manufactured or distributed in this state. The inspection fee and statement of commercial feeds manufactured or distributed in Michigan must be reported on forms provided by MDARD.
13¢ for each ton of commercial feed manufactured or distributed in Michigan.
The first report of each year covers the period beginning January 1st and ending June 30th.
The second report covers the period beginning July 1st and ending December 31st.
Reports and payments for the first period are due at MDARD by July 30th of each year.
Reports and payments for the second period are due at MDARD by January 30th of each year.
License holders who have not received their semiannual reporting form by July 1st or January 1st, respectively, should immediately contact MDARD at (517) 373-0946 or send an email to email@example.com.Penalty for Late Reports/Fees
Any license holder who fails to file a report or pay the inspection fee within 15 days of the due date owes a penalty of 10% of the amount due, but not less than $10.00.
Want to know more?
Why are the manufacturers or distributors of commercial feeds required to file a "Statement of Commercial Feeds Manufactured or Distributed in Michigan and Inspection Fee Payment Report" and how is the inspection fee used?
Is the information included on a tonnage report ever made available to the public or to other companies?
Are there any ingredients or products that don't have to be reported?
Are customer-formula feeds and ingredients used in commercial feeds exempt from inspection fees?
Are my reports subject to audit?
For answers to these and other important questions, visit: Frequently Asked Questions about Feed Tonnage Reporting Requirements and Inspection Fees.
Michigan.gov Home MDARD Home Contact MDARD State Web Sites Office of Regulatory Reinvention Spending & Accountability
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan