close print view
What if I don't earn enough continuing education credits?
If you are audited and you are unable to submit evidence of having earned the required hours of continuing education, your file will be submitted to the Health Professions Division's Complaint and Allegation Section. Failure to comply with continuing education requirements is considered a violation of the Public Health Code and administrative action will be taken against your license. Typical sanctions may include an imposed fine, a period of probation and completion of deficient continuing education credits. All administrative sanctions remain on your license record permanently and administrative sanctions are released under the Michigan Freedom of Information Act to anyone who requests that information.
Remember that by submitting your renewal form and renewal fee, you have indicated that you have completed the required continuing education. If you have not completed your continuing education by the expiration date of your license, you can use the 60-day grace period following the expiration date of your license to complete your continuing education. Once you have completed the required hours, you can submit your renewal with the late fee. Michigan law provides for a 60-day grace period following the expiration date before your license officially expires.