Skip Navigation
Michigan Department of Human, Official Website for the State of Michigan Home
close print view

State Disability Assistance

State Disability Assistance (SDA) provides cash assistance to eligible  disabled adults. If you are the caretaker of a disabled person or are age 65 or older, you may be eligible for SDA. Check Eligibility Button


Disability Determination  Asset Limits 
You are considered disabled for SDA purposes if you:
  • Receive disability-related benefits (such as medicaid based on disability or blindness)
  • Reside in a special facility (such as a licensed Adult Foster Care Home); or
  • Obtain certification by DHS medical consultants as unable to work due to a mental of physical disability for at least 90 days.
The cash asset limit is $3,000. Assets are cash or any property you own. Cash assets include: 
  • Cash on hand
  • Bank and credit union accounts
  • Investments
  • Retirement plans
  • Trusts
Income  Residency Requirements 
Most earned and unearned income is counted. Income is considered when determining the amount of SDA you are eligible to receive. Examples of countable income are:
  • Wages.
  • Self-employment earnings.
  • Rental income.
  • Social Security benefits.
  • Veterans benefits.
The following residency requirements apply:
  • Must be a U.S. citizen (or acceptable alien status). 
  • Must live in Michigan.
  • Must not be receiving cash from any other state.

QR code Home
PoliciesMichigan Survey

Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan