Skip Navigation
Michigan Business PortalMichigan.gov, official portal for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
  • One Stop Home
  • Contact Us
  • Site Map
  • close print view

    Raw Milk License, for Hauling

    The Food and Dairy division within the The Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development administers licenses all milk transportation companies, milk trucks and hauler/samplers who pick up and deliver milk within the state.


    A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:

    • Milk tank truck means both a bulk milk pickup tanker and a milk transport tank that is used to haul milk to the processing plant. Milk tank truck must be licensed by the State of Michigan.
    • Milk transportation company means the company that is the person responsible for a milk tank truck. Milk transportation companies that are located in Michigan must be licensed by the State of Michigan.
    • Milk can truck means a designated vehicle that transports milk in cans to the processing plant. Milk can trucks that are delivering in Michigan must be licensed by the State of Michigan.
    • Bulk milk hauler/sampler means any person who collects official samples and may transport raw milk from a farm and/or raw milk products to or from a dairy plant, receiving station, or transfer station and has in his or her possession a license or permit to sample such products. If the hauler/sampler is picking up milk in Michigan the hauler/sampler must be licensed by the State of Michigan.

    B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

    C. APPLICABLE REGULATION: 2001 PA 266 2001 Grade A Milk Law as amended Article III [288.500 Sec. 30] and 2001 PA 267 2001 Manufacturing Milk Law as amended Article II [288.670 Sec. 110]

    D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:

     1.  Applicability (activities that require the permit)

    Any person and/or company that wants to haul, deliver and/or sample milk within the state of Michigan must be licensed and inspected to do so.

     2.  Pre-Application Requirements
     3.  Application Submission Requirements

    All application(s) must be submitted and fees paid during the time of testing and/or inspection.

     4.  Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
    • Contact the insepctor in your area.
    • Schedule a date and time when you both are available for the inspection(s).
    • Submit the required applications
    • Pay the associated fees

    Time-frame may vary due to inspectors availablity.

     5.  Operational Requirements
    • See the [Grade A Milk Law] for licensing of milk tank trucks and milk transportation companies.
    • See the Pasteurized Milk Ordience of 2007 for licensing of milk tank trucks and milk transportation companies.
    • Appendix B of the Pasteurized Milk Ordience of 2007 for licensing of milk tank trucks and milk transportation companies.
    • See the [Manufacturing Milk Law] for licensing of milk can trucks.
    • Maintaining compliance with the Pasteurized Milk Ordience, Grade A Milk Law and/or the Manufacturing Milk Law.
     6.  Fees
    • Hauler/Sampler License is $40.00 on even years
    • Milk Transportation Company License is $20.00 with $10.00 per tank truck per year.
    • Milk Can Truck License is $10.00 per can milk truck per year.
     7.  Appeal Process

    Contact the Lansing Office

     8.  Public Input Opportunities

    E. Contact Information:

    Contact Us

     

    Creation/Revision Date:

    09/01/2010

    QR code

    Michigan.gov Home
  • State Web Sites
  • Site Map

  • Privacy Policy
  • Link Policy
  • Accessibility Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey

    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan