

COMMUNITY COLLEGE TALKING POINTS

WANT TUITION ON US? IF YOU'RE 21 TO 24 YEARS OLD, DON'T MISS OUT ON TAKING THE NEXT STEP TOWARD A CAREER YOU LOVE BY EARNING A COMMUNITY COLLEGE DEGREE OR CERTIFICATE TUITION-FREE WITH MICHIGAN RECONNECT.

- Now, for a limited time, Michigan residents 21 to 24, including already enrolled community college students or potential students who have not yet earned a college degree, can enroll in Michigan Reconnect, a tuition-free community college program previously limited to those 25 and older.
- Now is the time to enroll because the Reconnect expansion is for a limited time and is a result of Gov. Whitmer working with the Legislature to designate an additional \$70 million to temporarily expand the program and help more people and businesses "make it" in Michigan.
- The application window closes Tuesday, Dec. 31, 2024, at 11:59 p.m. EST.

Who can apply?

- To be eligible for the Michigan Reconnect Expansion, students must be at least 21 years of age and have not yet completed a college degree.
- Students must also have completed the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA); have earned a high school diploma or equivalent (GED) or certificate of completion; and have lived in Michigan for at least a year.
- Visit Michigan.gov/Reconnect for a full list of eligibility requirements.
- NOTE: Eligible Michigan residents 25 and older may still enroll as part of the original Reconnect program.

How do I apply?

- Apply for Reconnect by Dec. 31, 2024. The online, mobile-friendly application
 is available at Michigan.gov/Reconnect. If you are having difficulties
 on your mobile device, try a different browser or computer.
- Apply to and enroll in a community or tribal college by the summer semester 2025.
- If students have a question about applying or are having trouble submitting their application, we're here to help. Call the Customer Care Center at 888-447-2687, Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.