

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

RICK SNYDER GOVERNOR BRIAN J. WHISTON STATE SUPERINTENDENT

MEMORANDUM

DATE: November 16, 2017

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents

Public School Academy Directors

FROM: Venessa A. Keesler, Ph.D., Deputy Superintendent

Division of Educator, Student, and School Supports

SUBJECT: Revised Administrative Rules

The Michigan Department of Education's (MDE) Office of Professional Preparation Services (OPPS), is pleased to announce that the following newly revised Administrative Rules will be filed with the Office of the Great Seal and will become effective November 16, 2017:

- Teacher Certification Code
- School Administrator Certification Code
- School Psychologist Certification Code
- Certification and Licensure of School Counselors

The changes were designed to create consistency in terminology and processes across all certification rule sets promulgated by the MDE. The overarching goals were to comply with new laws, streamline multiple rule sets, eliminate duplication, and present a more logical regulatory scheme. Please note that the proposed amendments to these rule sets were taken out for public comment in the fall of 2016. These rule sets will be posted on the OPPS homepage once the links are made available by the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.

Summaries of amendments within each of the rule sets with links to corresponding guidance documents can be found at:

- Teacher Certification Code: Summary of Key Changes
- School Administrator Certification Code: Summary of Key Changes
- School Psychologist Certification Code: Summary of Key Changes
- Certification and Licensure of School Counselors: Summary of Key Changes

For additional information, please contact the Office of Professional Preparation at MOECSSupport@michigan.gov or 517-373-3310.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance
Directors and Representatives of Teacher Education Programs (DARTEP)

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – CO-PRESIDENT • RICHARD ZEILE – CO-PRESIDENT MICHELLE FECTEAU – SECRETARY • TOM MCMILLIN – TREASURER NIKKI SNYDER – NASBE DELEGATE • PAMELA PUGH LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY • EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER