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CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS  
 

FOR MICHIGAN OPTOMETRISTS   
 
 

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended  

 
This form is for information only. 

  
 
This brochure has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process to Optometrists licensed to practice optometry in 
Michigan.  
 

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL  

 
TRAINING ON IDENTIFYING VICTIMS OF HUMAN TRAFFICKING: 
 
The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules require Optometrists to complete training on identifying victims of human 
trafficking that meets the requirements in Administrative Rule 338.303.  Please note this is a one-time training that is separate from continuing 
education.  Licensees renewing in 2017 must complete training on identifying victims of human trafficking by renewal in 2019; licensees renewing 
in 2018 must complete training on identifying victims of human trafficking by renewal in 2020; etc.  Beginning December 21, 2021 an applicant for 
initial licensure as an optometrist must complete training on identifying victims of human trafficking as a requirement for licensure. 
 
CONTINUING EDUCATION: 
 
The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules require Optometrists to complete continuing education as follows: 

 

 A renewal applicant who has been licensed for the 2-year period immediately preceding the expiration date of the license must complete 
not less than 40 hours of board-approved continuing education.   

 A renewal applicant who holds certification to administer topical ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents or certification to administer and 
prescribe therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, or both, must accumulate not less than 20 hours of board-approved continuing education in 
pharmacological management of ocular conditions.  The 20 required hours are part of, and not in addition to, the required 40 hours of 
board-approved continuing education.  

 A renewal applicant must complete 1 hour of board approved continuing education in pain and symptom management related to the 
practice of optometry.  NOTE:  Beginning with the 2018 renewal cycle, and all renewal cycles thereafter, licensees are 
required to complete 2 hours of board-approved continuing education in pain and symptom management.  The continuing 
education in pain and symptom management is part of, and not in addition to, the required 40 hours of board approved continuing 
education.  Continuing education hours in pain and symptom management, as they relate to the practice of optometry, may include, but 
are not limited to the following:  ethics and health policy related to pain; pain definitions; basic sciences related to pain, including 
pharmacology, psychology, sociology, and anthropology; clinical sciences related to pain, including specific pain conditions and pain in 



special contexts and settings; clinician-patient communications related to pain; management of pain, including evaluation and treatment, 
non-pharmacological and pharmacological management; ensuring quality pain care; Michigan programs and resources relevant to pain. 
 

Board-approved continuing education programs include continuing education courses that are offered or approved by any of the 
following: 
 

 A continuing education program that has been approved by the Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE). 
 A Board-approved continuing education program pursuant to Administrative Rule 338.319. 

 
The following is considered board-approved continuing education: 
 

 Successful completion of a course or courses offered for credit in an optometry school approved by the board under R 338.305.  Ten hours 
of continuing education shall be credited for each quarter credit earned and 15 hours shall be credited for each semester credit earned.  
Hours may be earned without limitation. (If audited, a licensee must submit an official transcript documenting successful completion of the 
course.)  
 

 Successful completion of a continuing education program offered by an optometry school approved by the board under R 338.319.   One 
continuing education hour may be granted for each 54 to 60 minutes of program attendance, without limitation.  (If audited, a licensee 
must submit a copy of a letter or certificate of completion showing the licensee’s name, number of credits earned, sponsor name or the 
name of the organization that approved the program or activity for continuing education credit, and the date or dates on which the 
program was held or activity competed.) 

 
 Attendance at a continuing education program related to the practice of optometry offered by an educational program approved by the 

board under R 338.319 or approved by another state board of optometry.  One continuing education hour may be granted for each 54 to 
60 minutes of program attendance, without limitation.  (If audited, a licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate of completion 
showing the licensee’s name, number of credits earned, sponsor name or the name of the organization that approved the program or 
activity for continuing education credit, and the date or dates on which the program was held or activity competed.) 

 

 Presentation of or at a continuing education program approved by the board.  One continuing education hour may be granted for each 54 
to 60 minutes of program presentation, without limitation.  (If audited, a licensee must submit a letter from the program’s sponsor, 
verifying the licensee’s presentation of educational materials and lecture at the continuing education program.)  

 

 Attendance at continuing education program related to optometric topics approved for category 1 continuing education by the Michigan 
boards of medicine and osteopathic medicine and surgery.  One continuing education hour may be granted for each 54 to 60 minutes of 
program attendance, limited to 8 hours per renewal period.  (If audited, a licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate of 
completion showing the licensee’s name, number of credits earned, sponsor name or the name of the organization that approved the 
program or activity for continuing education credit, and the date or dates on which the program was held or activity completed.) 

 

 Attendance at a continuing education program related to optometric pharmacological topics approved for continuing education by the 
Michigan board of pharmacy.  One continuing education hour may be granted for each 54 to 60 minutes of program attendance, limited to 
8 hours per renewal period.  Applicants for renewal who hold certification to administer topical ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents or 



certification to administer and prescribe therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, or both, may earn hours without limitation.  (If audited, a 
licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate of completion showing the licensee’s name, number of credits earned, sponsor name 
or the name of the organization that approved the program or activity for continuing education credit, and the date or dates on which the 
program was held or activity completed.) 

 

 Attendance at a continuing education program related to practice management approved by the board.  One continuing education hour 
may be granted for each 54 to 60 minutes of program attendance, limited to 9 hours per renewal period.  (If audited, a licensee must 
submit a copy of a letter or certificate of completion showing the licensee’s name, number of credits earned, sponsor name or the name of 
the organization that approved the program or activity for continuing education credit, and the date or dates on which the program was 
held or activity completed.) 

 

 Attendance at a continuing education program related to self-evaluation journal tests and multimedia education, including online 
continuing education, approved by the board.   One continuing education hour may be granted for each 54 to 60 minutes of program 
attendance, limited to 20 hours per renewal period.  (If audited, a licensee must submit a copy of a letter or certificate of completion 
showing the licensee’s name, number of credits earned, sponsor name or the name of the organization that approved the program or 
activity for continuing education credit, and the date or dates on which the program was held or activity completed.) 

 
 Initial presentation of a scientific exhibit, poster, or paper to a professional optometric organization.  Two hours of continuing education 

shall be granted for each presentation.  No additional credit shall be granted for preparation of the presentation. (If audited, the licensee 
must submit a copy of the document presented with evidence of presentation or a letter from the program sponsor verifying the date of 
the presentation.) 

 

 Publication of a scientific article related to the practice of optometry in a peer-reviewed journal or periodical.  Six hours of continuing 
education shall be granted for serving as the primary author.  Three hours of continuing education shall be granted for serving as a 
secondary author.  (If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy of the publication that identifies the licensee as the author or a publication 
acceptance letter and documentation of the peer-review process.) 

 

 Initial publication of a chapter or a portion of a chapter related to the practice of optometry in either of the following:  A professional 
healthcare textbook; a peer-reviewed textbook.  Five hours of continuing education shall be granted for serving as the primary author.  
Two hours of continuing education shall be granted for serving as a secondary author.  (If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy of the 
publication that identifies the licensee as the author or a publication acceptance letter.) 

 
 Participating on any of the following:  A peer review committee dealing with quality of patient care as it relates to the practice of 

optometry; a committee dealing with utilization review as it relates to the practice of optometry; a health care organization committee 
dealing with patient care issues related to the practice of optometry; a national or state committee, board, council, or association related to 
the practice of optometry.  Twelve hours of continuing education shall be granted for participating on a committee.  A maximum of 12 
hours of continuing education may be earned for this activity in each renewal period.  A committee, board, council or association is 
considered acceptable by the board if it enhances the participant’s knowledge and understanding of the field of optometry.  (If audited, the 
licensee shall submit a letter from an organization official verifying the licensee’s participation in at least 50% of the regularly scheduled 
meetings of the committee, board, council or association.) 

 



 Taking of the CPDO examination administered by the NBEO. Twelve hours of continuing education shall be granted for taking the CPDO 
examination every 2 years. 

 

RENEWAL PROCEDURES 
 

Optometry licenses expire every 2 years on June 30.  Submission of the renewal application certifies that the continuing education requirements 
have been met.  
  
DO NOT SEND THE CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS to our office unless requested.  The Department of Licensing and  
Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, will conduct an audit at the conclusion of each renewal period.  Optometrists chosen for audit 
through an automated random selection process will be contacted by letter to submit documented evidence of the completion of continuing 
education activities.  
 
DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF THE CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS HAVE NOT BEEN MET. 
 
An Optometrist who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested, is in violation of the 
Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions:  reprimand, probation, denial, suspension, 
revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine. 
 
Licenses can be renewed approximately 90 days prior to the expiration date of the license after completion of continuing education requirements 
by submitting the renewal application with the renewal fee.  Licenses can be renewed during the sixty-day grace period after completion of 
continuing education requirements; a $20 late fee will be applied in addition to the renewal payment. 
 
If the license is not renewed prior to the end of the 60-day grace period, the license will lapse and reflect the June 30 expiration date.  
The applicant will be required to apply for relicensure in order to resume practice in Michigan.  “Relicensure” means the granting of a license to a 
person whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within 60 days after the expiration date. 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION WAIVERS  
 
The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Optometry to waive the continuing education requirements for a license renewal 
applicant if, upon written application, the Board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required board-approved courses or programs was 
due to the licensee’s disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond the control of the licensee 
which the Board considers good and sufficient.   
 
A written request for a waiver must be submitted by mail to the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing, 
Attn:  Board of Optometry, P.O. Box 30670, Lansing, MI  48909 or by email to BPLHelp@michigan.gov and shall include supporting documentation 
for the reason for the waiver.  A waiver cannot be requested after an application for renewal has been submitted.  The Board cannot prospectively 
waive continuing education requirements. 
 
 

mailto:BPLHelp@michigan.gov


To summarize: 
 

* All Michigan licensed Optometrists who were licensed for the 2-year period immediately preceding the expiration date of the license must 
have earned 40 hours of board-approved continuing education, with at least one hour in pain and symptom management. (NOTE:  Beginning 
with the 2018 renewal cycle, and all renewal cycles thereafter, 2 hours of pain and symptom management are required.)  A renewal applicant 
who holds certification to administer topical ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents or certification to administer and prescribe therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agents, or both, must accumulate a minimum of 20 hours of board-approved continuing education in pharmacological 
management of ocular conditions.  The 20 required hours are part of, and not in addition to, the 40 hours of board-approved continuing 
education.  
 

* Submission of the renewal application certifies that the continuing education requirements have been met.  
 

* Failure to complete the continuing education requirement is considered a violation of the Public Health Code.  
 

* Every Optometrist who is renewing his/her license should retain records documenting the completion of continuing education.  Those 
documents must be retained for 4 years from the date of applying for license renewal. 

 
The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, 
national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs.  If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the American’s 
with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency.  
 


