CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR MICHIGAN PODIATRISTS

Authority: Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended

This form is for information only

This document has been developed to explain the requirements and the license renewal process to physicians licensed to practice Podiatry in Michigan.

The Michigan Public Health Code and board administrative rules requires every Podiatrist to complete, during the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application for renewal of the license, at least 150 hours of continuing podiatric medical education in activities approved by the Board of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery (Board). Pursuant to this requirement, the board has promulgated rules to establish specific criteria for the board's approval of continuing podiatric medical education activities.

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL

The continuing education requirements apply to every physician renewing a Michigan podiatrist license who has been licensed for the 3-year period immediately preceding an application for renewal. The requirements apply whether or not the physician is actively engaged in the practice of podiatric medicine and surgery. No one, including medical school faculty and resident physicians, is exempt from this requirement.

Each podiatrist is required to complete 150 hours of continuing podiatric medical education in activities approved by the board. At least 3 of the continuing podiatric medical education hours must be completed in pain and symptom management in each renewal period. Effective September 4, 2020, each podiatrist shall have earned at least 1 continuing podiatric medical education hour in medical ethics and at least 2 continuing podiatric medical education hours in controlled substance prescribing.

Every podiatrist who is renewing his/her license must retain documentation of meeting the requirements of continuing education. Those documents should be retained for a period of 4 years from the date of applying for license renewal.

DO NOT SUBMIT CONTINUING EDUCATION DOCUMENTS along with the license renewal application. The Department of

Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing will conduct an audit at the conclusion of the renewal period. Physicians chosen for an audit through an automated random selection process will be contacted by letter to submit documented evidence of the completion of 150 hours of continuing education.

DO NOT RENEW YOUR LICENSE IF YOU DO NOT HAVE THE REQUIRED 150 HOURS OF CONTINUING PODIATRIC MEDICAL EDUCATION.

A Podiatrist who is unable to provide evidence of completion of the continuing education requirements, when requested, is in violation of the Michigan Public Health Code and subject to one or more of the following possible license sanctions: reprimand, probation, denial, suspension, revocation, limitation, restitution, and fine.

REQUIREMENT FOR RELICENSURE

"Relicensure" means the granting of a license to an individual whose license has lapsed for failure to renew the license within 60 days after the expiration date.

ALL RELICENSURE APPLICANTS MUST HAVE COMPLETED 150 HOURS OF BOARD APPROVED CONTINUING PODIATRIC MEDICAL EDUCATION CREDIT WITHIN THE 3-YEAR PERIOD IMMEDIATELY PRECEDING THE DATE OF APPLICATION FOR RELICENSURE, WHICH MUST INCLUDE 3 HOURS IN PAIN AND SYMPTOM MANAGEMENT, 1 HOUR IN MEDICAL ETHICS AND 2 HOURS RELATED TO CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES PRESCRIBING.

CATEGORIES OF CONTINUING MEDICAL EDUCATION

The following is a brief description of each category of continuing podiatric medical education activities considered acceptable by the board, the number of allowable hours that may be earned in each category within the 3-year period immediately preceding an application for renewal, and examples of acceptable documentation:

A. Maximum: 150 hours, Minimum: 75 hours unless all 150 hours are earned in Category N - Attendance at or participation in a continuing education program or activity related to the practice of podiatry, or any non-clinical subject relevant to practice, education, administration management, or science, including, but not limited to, live and in-person programs; interactive or monitored teleconference or audio-conference programs; online programs; and, journal articles or other self-study programs offered by a sponsor accredited or approved by the Council on Podiatric Medical Education (CPME). – Letter or certificate of completion.

- **B. Maximum: 75 hours -** Attendance at or participation in a continuing education program or activity related to the practice of podiatry, or any non-clinical subject relevant to practice, education, administration, management, or science, including, but not limited to, live and in-person programs; interactive or monitored teleconference or audio-conference programs; online programs; and, journal articles or other self-study programs approved by either of the following:
 - The Michigan board of podiatric medicine and surgery.
 - Another state or provincial board of podiatric medicine and surgery.
 - Letter or certificate of completion.
- **C. Maximum: 40 hours** Attendance at or participation in a continuing education program or activity related to the practice of podiatry, or any non-clinical subject relevant to practice, education, administration, management, or science, including, but not limited to, live and in-person programs; interactive or monitored teleconference or audio-conference programs; online programs; and, journal articles or other self-study programs accredited, approved, or offered by either of the following:
 - The Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education.
 - The American Medical Association.
 - The American Osteopathic Association.
 - Letter or certificate of completion.
- **D. Maximum: 50 hours -** Obtaining specialty board certification from 1 of the following:
 - American Board of Podiatric Medicine (ABPM).
 - American Board of Foot and Ankle Surgery (ABFAS).
 - American Board of Multiple Specialties in Podiatry (ABMSP).
 - American Board of Lower Extremity Surgery (ABLES).
 - American Board of Wound Management (ABWM).
 - Proof of certification.
- **E. Maximum: 30 hours -** Obtaining specialty board recertification by one of the following:
 - ABPM
 - ABFAS
 - ABMSP
 - ABLES
 - ABWM
 - Proof of recertification.
- **F. Maximum: 50 hours -** Serving as an instructor of podiatric medical students, house staff, other physicians, or allied health professionals in a hospital or institution which offers a postgraduate training program that is approved by the board if the hospital or institution has approved the instruction. **Letter from the program director verifying the licensee's role.**

- **G. Maximum: 50 hours** Serving as an instructor of podiatric students at an accredited podiatric medical institution under a rotating externship program recognized and approved by the medical institution. **Letter from the sponsoring podiatric institution verifying the licensee's role.**
- **H. Maximum: 75 hours -** Initial publication of an article related to the practice of podiatric medicine and surgery in a peer-reviewed journal. **Copy of the publication that identifies the licensee as the author or a publication acceptance letter.**
- **I. Maximum: 50 hours -** Initial publication of a chapter related to the practice of podiatric medicine and surgery in either of the following:
 - A professional or health care textbook.
 - A peer-reviewed textbook.
 - Copy of the publication that identifies the licensee as the author or a publication acceptance letter.
- J. Maximum: 30 hours Initial presentation of a scientific exhibit, a formal original scientific paper, or both, at a professional meeting. Copy of the document presented with evidence of presentation and a log indicating time spent in preparation or a letter from the program sponsor verifying the length and date of the presentation and a log indicating time spent in preparation.
- K. Maximum: 30 hours Independent study is the independent reading of peer-reviewed professional journals or medical textbooks.- Affidavit attesting to the number of hours the licensee spent participating in these activities.
- L. Maximum: 30 hours Completion of a multi-media program that requires a licensee to complete a self-assessment component, including, but not limited to, videotapes, internet web-based seminars, video conferences, on-line continuing education programs, and journal articles. This does not include multi-media programs that satisfy the requirements of activity codes A, B, or C listed above. A self-assessment component shall include, but not be limited to, a post-test or other evaluation instrument that assesses the knowledge an individual gained after completing an activity. Affidavit attesting to the number of hours the licensee spent participating in these activities.
- M. Maximum: 30 hours Participation on a hospital staff committee dealing with quality patient care or utilization review, or both.
 Letter from an organization official verifying the licensee's participation and the number of hours the licensee spent participating on the committee.
- **N. Maximum: 150 hours -** Full-time enrollment in a postgraduate clinical training program related to the practice of podiatric medicine and surgery in a hospital or institution that is approved by the board. **Letter from the program director.**

Accredited sponsors are required to provide a letter or certificates of completion, showing the licensee's name, number of credits earned, sponsor name or the name of the organization that approved the program or activity for continuing education credit, and the date on which the program was held or activity completed.

RENEWAL PROCEDURES

Podiatrist licenses are renewed every 3 years. Submission of the online renewal application form certifies that the continuing education requirements are met. If the renewal requirements have not been completed, the renewal application should not be submitted. Licenses can be renewed during the 60-day grace period after completion of continuing education requirements, with the renewal fee and the additional \$20.00 late fee. If a waiver is requested, the application for a waiver may be made 90 days prior to expiration of the license but must be received prior to the license expiration date. Licensees who have not been granted waivers should allow their licenses to expire. Application for relicensure may be made upon completion of the 150-hour requirement within the 3-year period immediately preceding the date of application for relicensure.

Continuing Medical Education Waivers - The Michigan Public Health Code authorizes the Board of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery to waive the continuing podiatric medical education requirements for a license renewal applicant if, upon written application, the board finds the failure of the licensee to attend the required board-approved activities was due to the licensee's disability, military service, absence from the continental United States, or a circumstance beyond the control of the licensee which the board considers good and sufficient.

A written request for a waiver must be submitted by mail to the Bureau of Professional Licensing, Attn: Board of Podiatric Medicine, P.O. Box 30670, Lansing, MI or by email to BPLHelp@michigan.gov and shall include supporting documentation for the reason for the waiver. A waiver cannot be requested after an application for renewal has been submitted. The board cannot prospectively waive continuing education requirements.

To summarize:

- * All Michigan licensed Podiatrists must complete 150 hours of board approved continuing podiatric medical education during the 3 years immediately preceding an application for renewal of the license. Of the 150 hours, at least 75 hours must be in Category A unless all 150 hours are earned in Category N. At least 3 of the continuing podiatric medical education hours must be completed in pain and symptom management, 1 in medical ethics and 2 in controlled substance prescribing.
- * Submission of the renewal application and fee is considered a statement that the CE requirement has been met.
- * Failure to complete the CE requirement is considered a violation of the Public Health Code.

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, religion, age, national origin, color, marital status, disability or political beliefs. If you need assistance with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the American's with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs know to this agency.