close print view
Pharmacy LicenseAgency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
New! Renewals for these tasks are accessible through the Michigan Business One Stop portal.
A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:
B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:
D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:
1. Applicability (activities that require the permit/approval)
All pharmacies in Michigan are required to possess a valid Pharmacy License issued by the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA), Bureau of Health Care Services. If a pharmacy's license lapses, a re-licensure application (included on the Pharmacy License Application) must be submitted. If a pharmacy is sold, transferred to another owner, or is relocated, the Pharmacy License Application must be submitted. If there is a change in stockholder, responsible pharmacist or store/corporation name, the Miscellaneous Pharmacy Change Application must be submitted.
2. Pre-Application Requirements
Pharmacies that are operating as a partnership or corporation must have been previously approved by the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs' Corporation Division. If the pharmacy is operating under an assumed name, the assumed name must be registered with the appropriate County Clerk's Office.
3. Application Submission Requirements
Pharmacy License Application and required supporting documents listed in instructions. This application form is also used for applying by re-licensure.
Miscellaneous Pharmacy Change Application and required supporting documents listed in instructions. This form is used for a change in stockholder, responsible pharmacist or store/corporation name.
4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
A Pharmacy License Application or Miscellaneous Pharmacy Change Application and any required supporting documents will be reviewed for completeness. The review process normally takes up to 8 weeks.
5. Operational Requirements
Pharmacy Licenses must be renewed every 2 years.
New Pharmacy Store and Controlled Substance - $180.00
Pharmacy Store Relicensure - $200.00
Pharmacy Store Sale or Transfer - $180.00
Pharmacy Store Relocation - $55.00
Pharmacy Store/Corporation Name Change (When no change in ownership occurs.) - $20.00
7. Appeal Process
If the decision is made to deny a Pharmacy License, a Notice of Intent to Deny Licensure is issued. The applicant would then be entitled to an administrative hearing and the Administrative Law Examiner's Proposal for Decision would be reviewed by the Board of Pharmacy for review and disposition.
8. Public Input Opportunities
If changes to the Board of Pharmacy's administrative rules have been approved by the Board of Pharmacy, a public hearing would be conducted for public comment and public comments could also be submitted via email. The proposed changes would also be available on the Bureau of Health Care Services' website at www.michigan.gov/healthlicense.
Revised: September 2013
Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan