close print view
Fee Changes (09/15/2003)
Public Act 152 of 2003, which changes dealer license fees, title fees, and plate fees, becomes effective October 1, 2003. The Act creates the Transportation Administration Collection Fund, the Traffic Law Enforcement and Safety Fund, the Trooper Recruit School Fund, and a new fee for the purpose of regulating highway safety and funding road building.
Dealer License Fees: The Act changes the dealer license fee to $75 ($160 for a used vehicle parts dealer, an automotive recycler, or foreign salvage vehicle dealer). Dealer license fees have not changed in 30 years and the new fees will be comparable to other professional license fees.
Plate Fees: Most vehicle plate fees will increase $3. The increase does not apply to plate fees for 1983 model year and older vehicles, motorcycle plate fees and Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) plate fees.
Trailers and Trailer Coaches: Trailers and trailer coaches will be registered with a permanent, non-expiring trailer plate based on the unit's empty weight. The new trailer plates will be non-transferable. The 6-month recreational trailer plates and 5-year trailer plates will be discontinued. All trailer plates issued or renewed before October 1, 2003, will remain valid until expiration.
Title Fees: Most vehicle title fees will increase by $3.
Registration Renewals: Registration renewals will no longer be prorated once expired. The full 12-month fee will be due. If expired longer than 6 months, a 24-month renewal fee will be due.
Registration Late Fee: Most registrations will be assessed a new $10 late fee if renewed after expiration.
Temporary Permits: The 14-day temporary permit (currently $10) will be replaced with the owner's choice of a 30-day or 60-day temporary permit. The 30-day temporary permit will cost 1/10 of the annual registration fee or $20, whichever is greater, plus a $10 service fee. The 60-day temporary permit will cost 1/5 of the annual registration fee or $40, whichever is greater, plus a $10 service fee. The 14-day in-transit permit fee remains unchanged.
The following table summarizes the changes*:
*The information provided here is an overview and does not cover every affected transaction.
Dealers must use the new fees with all RD-108s for vehicles with a delivery date of October 1, 2003, or later. The new fees will be applied to all RD-108s submitted to the branch offices after October 15, 2003, regardless of delivery date.
Updated license plate fee charts have been ordered and will be distributed later this month. These charts will replace the current license plate fee charts in the back of your MV-118 License Plate Fees and Base Prices booklet.
Important Note: The Department's Dealer License Plate Fee Calculation Program will not be updated by October 1. Dealers are cautioned not to rely on this program after September 30, 2003, unless you add $3 to the calculated fee. After September 30, 2003, the program should not be used for any trailer or trailer coach fees. We will notify you when an updated program is available.
Please contact your local Secretary of State branch office if you have questions.
Michigan.gov Home SOS Home FAQ Online Services Forms Contact SOS Office of Regulatory Reinvention State Web Sites Spending & Accountability
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan