close print view
FAC/FCJ (Failure to Appear in Court/Failure to Comply with Judgment)
Local courts notify the Michigan Department of State to suspend the driver license of persons who fail to respond to a Michigan traffic citation (FAC) or fail to comply with a Court judgment (FCJ). The Department notifies the individual that his/her license is suspended until the matter is resolved. The individual may obtain a printout of any open FAC/FCJ Suspension(s) at the local branch office. Then, contact or visit the appropriate court to settle the traffic citation listed. When the FAC/FCJ is cleared, the Court advises the Department. The Department clears the suspension and the court provides the individual with a clearance.
An individual, upon receiving a clearance from the Court for the FAC/FCJ suspension, may wish to go to a local branch office and present the clearance in order to immediately receive a termination statement.
Drivers who have actions on their driving records indicating that they were convicted of a moving violation during a FAC/FCJ Suspension, will receive a 30-day additional suspension pursuant to MCL 257.907(11). The conviction does not have to be a Drove While License Suspended conviction. The Michigan conviction can be for any moving violation. Example, the driver could be convicted of Speeding or Disobeying a Stop Sign and still receive a 30-day additional suspension. To clear the additional suspension after 30 days, the driver shall pay a $125.00 reinstatement fee to the Secretary of State (this fee may be paid at the local Secretary of State branch office). This fee is separate from the $45 reinstatement fee paid to the Court.
Michigan drivers who seek a license from another state, but who owe a reinstatement fee(s) to Michigan, must pay the fee(s) in order to clear their Michigan driving status. There are three options for paying reinstatement fees.
FCPV's Stop Action
An individual who has received either of the following is notified by the local court of Failure to Comply with Parking Violations (FCPV's):
The driver has ten (10) days to contact the court to resolve the problem. Failure to do so results in a "stop action" order from the local court which requires the Secretary of State to prohibit any further licensing activity until the FCPV's have been cleared. The only activity permitted is a change of address. The license is NOT suspended.
Reinstatement Fee - $45
Michigan courts are required to collect a $45 driver license reinstatement in addition to any other court imposed fines or costs when:
> Application for Driver's License Reinstatement - 255973 bytes
Michigan.gov Home SOS Home FAQ Online Services Forms Contact SOS Office of Regulatory Reinvention State Web Sites Spending & Accountability
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan