Helmet Use in Michigan
What the Law
Michigan law now allows motorcyclists to decide for
themselves, if certain conditions are met, whether or not to wear a
To legally not wear a helmet, a motorcycle operator must:
- Be at least 21 years old.
- Have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits.
- Have held a motorcycle endorsement for at least two years, or
have passed an approved motorcycle safety course.
The law also allows for motorcycle passengers to not wear a helmet.
Passengers also may not wear a helmet as long as they:
- Are at least 21 years old.
- Have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits insurance
in addition to the insurance that is required of the motorcycle
A person younger than 21 years old still must wear a helmet approved
by the U.S. Department of Transportation when operating or riding on a
motorcycle. The requirement that an individual younger than 19 years old
must wear a helmet if operating a moped on a public roadway is
Learn More About Using a Helmet
To read more about properly using a motorcycle helmet, please see the
video linked to above or
this informational article from the Motorcycle Safety Foundation,
which recommends wearing an approved helmet as well as over-the-ankle
footwear, long pants, a long-sleeved jacket and full-fingered motorcycle
According to the article, "Since head injuries account for a majority
of motorcycle fatalities, protection is vital.
. . . Even the best helmet is
no guarantee against injury. However, without a helmet you are more
likely to have serious head injuries than a rider who is wearing one."
The Motorcycle Safety Foundation, a nationally recognized group
devoted to safe riding, has produced an
informative video about helmet use.