Skip Navigation
AGENCY_HEADER_LOGOPORTAL_HEADER_LOGO
Michigan.gov Home
  • SOS Home
  • Site Map
  • FAQs
  • Online Services
  • Forms
  • Contact SOS
  • close print view
    FAQ
      Vehicles
    When is a vehicle considered abandoned?
     
    Answer:

    A vehicle may be considered abandoned when it is:

    • On private property without the owner's consent, or
    • On public property, including county roads and city streets, for at least 48 hours, or
    • On a state road or highway (e.g., M-99, U.S. 23, I-96) for at least 18 hours if a valid license plate is on the vehicle, or
    • On a state road or highway for any period of time if a valid license plate is not on the vehicle.

    Also, a vehicle removed under the following conditions is considered abandoned if not redeemed by the owner within seven days:

    • Parked or idling on the highway so that it creates an immediate public hazard or an obstruction of traffic.
    • Parked in a posted tow-away zone.
    • A threat to public safety because its presence impedes rescue efforts during fire, flood, storm, snow, natural or man-made disaster or other emergency.
    • Hampering the use of private property by the owner or person in charge of that property or is parked in a manner which impedes the movement of another vehicle.
    • Illegally stopped, idling or parked in a designated disability parking space.
    • Located in a clearly identified access aisle or access lane immediately adjacent to a disability parking space.
    • Interfering with the use of a ramp or a curb-cut by people with disabilities.

    A vehicle removed under the following conditions is considered abandoned if not redeemed by the owner within 20 days from the date of release by the law enforcement agency:

    • Believed to be stolen.
    • Seized to preserve evidence of a crime.
    • Involved in a crash.

    > Back To Abandoned Vehicle FAQ
    > Additional Abandoned Vehicle Related Information

     

    If you did not find the information you need, enter a descriptive word or phrase in the Search field located in the upper right corner or send us an e-mail and we will help you get the information you need.


    FAQ Categories
     •  Index of SOS FAQs
     •  About the Secretary of State
     •  Automotive-related Businesses
     •  Branch Offices
     •  Campaign Finance & Lobby Disclosure
     •  Contact Information
     •  Great Seal/Authentications
     •  Driving
     •  Elections & Voting
     •  Fees
     •  New Michigan Residents
     •  Notary Public
     •  Online Services
     •  Uniform Commercial Code (UCC)
     •  Organ Donation
     •  Services to the Disability Community
     •  Vehicles
     •  Svcs. Provided by Other Govt. Agencies
     •  Electronic Insurance Reporting FAQ
    QR code

    Michigan.gov Home
  • SOS Home
  • FAQ
  • Online Services
  • Forms
  • Contact SOS
  • Office of Regulatory Reinvention
  • State Web Sites
  • Spending & Accountability

  • Privacy Policy
  • Link Policy
  • Accessibility Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan