Skip Navigation
AGENCY_HEADER_LOGOPORTAL_HEADER_LOGO
Michigan.gov Home
  • SOS Home
  • Site Map
  • FAQs
  • Online Services
  • Forms
  • Contact SOS
  • close print view

    Driver Education Providers and Instructors

    Michigan's driver education programs, including information for administrators and instructors.

    Spotlight

    Renew Provider and Instructor Certificates ONLINE!

    Graduated Driver's License Restrictions

    Driver Education Bulletins Up-to-date information for driver education administrators.

    Driver Education Section Contact Information

    Inventory Unit Contact information for ordering segment 1 & 2 certificates and other driver education materials.


    Driver Education Provider - Teen/Adult

    Driver Education Provider Manual (March 2014) PDF icon This Driver Education Provider Manual will equip you with information about the requirements of conforming to the laws that govern driver education...

    Driver Education 3.0 Curriculum Guide (revised September 2013) PDF icon Provides driver education administrators a framework to successfully meet the goals of Segments 1 & 2.

    Teen and Adult Driver Education Provider Information Documents that must be completed and information required in order to apply for and obtain a driver education provider certificate for teen or adult driving training classifications.

    Segment 1 Minimum Age Verification Tables Tables will assist in the verification that each student enrolling in Segment 1 is at least 14 years and 8 months old by the first day of class, as required by law.

    Segment 2 Driver Education Risk Awareness Fact Sheets (August 2013) PDF icon Risk awareness information pertaining to young drivers.

    Multiple Vehicle Driving Facility (Range) Information A teen driver education provider that intends to provide behind-the-wheel instruction utilizing a "range" must submit a separate Multiple Vehicle Driving Facility (Range) Original Application for each range facility.

    Archived Driver Education Documents


    Driver Education Provider - Truck

    Driver Education Provider Manual (March 2014) PDF icon This Driver Education Provider Manual will equip you with information about the requirements of conforming to the laws that govern driver education...

    Truck Driver Education Provider Information Documents that must be completed and information required in order to apply for an obtain a truck driver education provider certificate for truck driver training.


    Driver Education - Instructors

    Approved Instructor Preparation Programs PDF icon Pursuant to section 23 of the Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act (PA 384 of 2006), the following Instructor Preparation Programs are approved to conduct instructor training...

    Driver Education Instructor Certification Requirements Minimum requirements to become a certified driver education instructor.

    Driver Education Instructor Application Packet Application materials required to become a certified driver education instructor.

    Professional Development PDF icon The Driver Education Provider and Instructor Act, MCL 256.641, requires instructors to certify compliance with professional development requirements prescribed by the Secretary of State.


    Driver Education Quick Links
     •  Provider & Instructor Certification Online Renewal
     •  Teen Driver
     •  GDL: A Parents Guide
     •  What Every Driver Must Know
     •  Renew Driver's License
     •  Replace Driver's License
     •  Enhanced Driver's License
     •  Driver's License Fees
    QR code

    Michigan.gov Home
  • SOS Home
  • FAQ
  • Online Services
  • Forms
  • Contact SOS
  • State Web Sites
  • Office of Regulatory Reinvention
  • Spending & Accountability

  • Privacy Policy
  • Link Policy
  • Accessibility Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan