close print view
Buying a Vehicle From a Dealer
When you buy a new or used vehicle from a Michigan dealer, the dealer:
Before accepting delivery of the vehicle, check to make sure all promised options and equipment have been included. Test drive the vehicle again to make sure it is working properly.
By law, the dealer must give you a copy of each document when you sign it. Never sign any blank documents or sign a document without reading it carefully. The dealer should give you:
If you are purchasing a used vehicle, the dealer must show you the previous owner's title. Examine it carefully. If the title is an orange color and shows "this vehicle was previously issued a salvage title", the vehicle was previously issued a salvage title, probably due to vehicle damage. You are entitled to a salvage disclosure form from the dealer.
After the Sale
You should receive a second copy of your Application for Michigan Title -- Statement of Vehicle Sale (RD-108) in the mail within 20 days of the sale. You should receive a new title within 30 days. Review it for accuracy. If there are errors, contact your local Secretary of State Branch Office.
Always keep your title in a safe place. Do not keep the title in your vehicle.
> Consumer's Guide to Buying a Vehicle from a Dealership - 162817 bytes
Michigan.gov Home SOS Home FAQ Online Services Forms Contact SOS Office of Regulatory Reinvention State Web Sites Spending & Accountability
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan