July 8, 2009 - State Police to Conduct Enforcement Blitz for Unified Carrier Registration ProgramContact: Lt. Patrick Morris, Traffic Safety Division, (989) 758-1909Agency: State Police
LANSING. To enhance compliance with the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR) program, officers from the Michigan State Police (MSP) Traffic Safety Division will conduct a weeklong statewide enforcement blitz beginning on July 12, 2009. Failure to register under UCR is a misdemeanor with a fine of up to $500 and/or 90 days in jail.
The UCR program replaced the Single State Registration System (SSRS) in 2005. All interstate and international motor carriers including brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies (who were exempt from the SSRS), are required to register. The fees collected under the UCR program are used for commercial vehicle safety and enforcement programs.
To register under the UCR program, Michigan commercial motor vehicle carriers can contact the Michigan Public Service Commission at (517) 241-6030 or visit www.ucr.in.gov.
UCR enforcement and zero tolerance for carriers failing to register will continue after the weeklong blitz.
> News Release - State Police to Conduct Enforcement Blitz for Unified Carrier Registration Program - 47817 bytes