Michigan Conference on Affordable Housing Announces Duvernay Award Recipient at Annual Conference Awards Program

Contact: Mike Nowlin (989) 450-0855

June 5, 2009

Michigan Conference on Affordable Housing Announces Duvernay Award Recipient at Annual Conference Awards Program

Lansing, MI– The Michigan Conference on Affordable Housing (MCOAH) named Mary L. Trucks of Idlewild, Michigan the 2009 Terrence R. Duvernay Award recipient at an awards luncheon during the 11th annual MCOAH in Lansing. Trucks is director of FiveCap, Inc. a broad-based community services organization with a major focus on affordable housing in rural communities. The conference was June 1-3 at the Lansing Center, 333 E. Michigan Avenue, in Lansing.

"This year's conference theme is β€˜New Solutions for New Times'," remarked Jess Sobel, Chair of the Conference Planning Committee. "Mary's work with FiveCAP, Inc. is a perfect example of new solutions for new times"

The Duvernay Award is the pinnacle of the MCOAH Awards Program. Eight awards were presented during the awards program. The following are the recipients of the day's awards:

  • Community Development Advocate Award presented to Lorrat Brown of the Michigan Poverty Law Program for chairing the Policy Committee of the Michigan Foreclosure Task Force Staffed by the Community Economic Development Association of Michigan (CEDAM), bringing together partners to collectively find solutions to this growing problem.
  • Living in Michigan's Coalition's "Champion for Vibrant Communities Awards" presented to Michigan Lieutenant Governor John Cherry and Michigan Secretary of State Terri Lynn Land.
  • Corrie Bair Building Inclusive Communities Award Presented to Sue Hart of Flint for avocation for accessible, affordable, integrated housing for people with disabilities.
  • Julie Sandford Award was presented to Michelle Manier of Ecorse, a success story for supportive housing.
  • Community Spirit Award was presented to Chris Aikens, CRA officer at Flagstar Bank in Troy, Michigan, for her outstanding dedication to affordable housing and community development.
  • Michigan State Housing Development Authority's (MSHDA's) Homeownership Division Counselor of the Year Award was presented to Tracie Coffman of Home Repair Services in Grand Rapids was the undisputed choice as the first recipient of this award for her efforts in assisting families, counseling agencies, counselors, legal service agencies, the Michigan Foreclosure Taskforce and MSHDA.
  • MSHDA's Homeownership Division Housing Agency of the Year was presented to Michigan State University Extension – Macomb County and Michigan State University Extension – Washtenaw, recognized for their contributions over the past year made to address the impact that foreclosures have had on their communities.

With over 1500 attendees, the MCOAH is one of the largest conferences in the country.