close print view
Claims Against the State of MichiganUpdated 10/11/2011
GENERAL INFORMATION PERTAINING TO ALL CLAIMS
In accordance with MCL 600.6419 (10) or MSA 27A.6419, the State Administrative Board is vested with authority upon advice of the Attorney General to consider and allow claims against the State of Michigan, its departments, officers, and colleges and universities for an amount less than $1,000.00 for the loss of personal property or personal injury.
If your claim against the State of Michigan is for $1,000.00 or more, you may decide to file a claim for only $999.99 with the State Administrative Board; otherwise the State Administrative Board does not have jurisdiction over this claim and the claim needs to be filed with the following:
If your claim is approved, the State of Michigan will calculate the value of any lost or damaged personal property at the time of the loss, so be sure to include the receipt for the item so the depreciation can be determined.
HOW TO FILE A CLAIM AGAINST THE STATE OF MICHIGAN FOR LESS THAN $1,000.00 FOR THE LOSS OF PERSONAL PROPERTY OR PERSONAL INJURY
1. Print out the DTMB-1104 - Form "CLAIM AGAINST THE STATE OF MICHIGAN FOR PERSONAL LOSSES LESS THAN $1,000."
Page 2 is the instruction sheet and does not need to be sent in with the form.
2. Fill out the DMB-1104 form according to the instructions sheet.
3. Gather and copy any documents necessary to prove your claim.
WE DO NOT RETURN ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS,
4. THE FORM MUST BE SIGNED AND NOTARIZED.
5. DON'T CROSS OUT ANY TEXT PRINTED ON THE FORM.
6. Mail the claim form and copies of any documents to the address on the instruction sheet.
Part of Administrative Guide Procedure 0620.02 covers claims made by the general public.
Claims for Highway Defects
Claims for highway defects are decided under MCL 691.1402.
You may print out the DTMB-1104 claim form here, or an inmate may request a DMB-1104 claim form from the Warden's Office or Business Office at the correctional facility where you are incarcerated.
Mail the claim form and the copies of any documents to the address on the instruction sheet.
Part of Administrative Guide Procedure 0620.02 covers claims made by inmates.
For faster claim resolution, you may turn the completed claim form in to your department's Human Resources Office or Finance Office.
If you want to mail the claim in, send it to the address on the instruction sheet.
Pursuant to MCL 600.6420 or MSA 27A.6420, your Department Director may choose to resolve any employee's claim of $500.00 or less,
Part of Administrative Guide Procedure 0620.02 covers claims made by State Employees.
In order to appeal a claim denied by the Department of Transportation, please send an email to
You can cut and paste the following into the email:
I want to appeal my claim originally denied by the Department of Transportation.
My full name is (Insert your first and last name.)
I filed my claim at the Regional Transportation Service Center in (Insert name of City.)
Michigan law does not provide claimants with an appeal process for Board decisions.
Michigan.gov Home Contact Contract Connect Contract Connect Home
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan