2016 Loleta Fyan Small and Rural Libraries Conference

Rural Libraries Conference title text

The 2016 Loleta Fyan Small and Rural Libraries Conference will be held on Mackinac Island May 4-6, 2016.

Please let us know if you have questions about the 2016 conference. Everyone is excited to be putting together another spectacular event for the small and rural library community here in Michigan.

Submit a Session Proposal - The call for proposals is open through Monday, October 19 at 5pm EST.  To help you plan your program proposal, please review the submission form.

Attendee and exhibitor registration will be available in January 2016. 

Awards Nomination Form. Award nominations must be received by January 8, 2016


Information on the 2014 conference can be found below:

The 2014 Rural Libraries Conference was held April 30-May 2, 2014. Rural Libraries Conference is a specially crafted conference whose goal is to reach the informational needs of small and rural library staff members from every area of Michigan. The three day conference features vendors, awards, keynote speakers and an array of sessions all geared to rural and small libraries.

2014 Full Conference Program- view the printed program, including information on speakers, room locations and exhibitors.

2014 Additional Presentation Resources - below you can find slides and resources that were not included on the flash drive provided to the attendees.

District Library Establishment - presented by Anne M. Seurynck

Top Ten FOIA and Open Meetings Act Mistakes - presented by Anne M. Seurynck

Top Ten Issues Every Library Director and Trustee Should Know - presented by Anne M. Seurynck

Determining Costs of Library Service Contracts - presented by Kathy Webb and Richard Butler Jr.

2014 Sponsors - the following organizations have provided sponsorships for the conference through the Library of Michigan Foundation.

  • Library of Michigan Foundation
  • Midwest Collaborative for Library Services, MCLS
  • Emery-Pratt Company
  • Kaplan Early Learning Company
  • Enfold Systems

 2014 Exhibitors

  • Baker & Taylor, Inc.
  • Biblionix
  • Connect Michigan
  • Friends of Michigan Libraries and Trustee Alliance
  • The Library Network
  • Leedy Architects
  • Rural Development, U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • The Book Farm, Inc.
  • TEI Landmark Audio
  • Merritt Cieslak Design
  • Historical Society of Michigan
  • HYPE - the Detroit Public Library Teen Center
  • Colibri Systems North America
  • Book Systems Inc.
  • World Book
  • Sebco Books
  • ABDO
  • Library of Michigan
  • Michigan Department of State
  • Scholastic Library Publishing/Capstone Publishing
  • Library Design Associates
  • TLC - The Library Corporation
  • Corrigan Moving Systems
  • Wayne State University School of Library and Information Science
  • Merit Network
  • Midwest Collaborative for Library Services: MCLS
  • Michigan Humanities Council
  • Emery-Pratt Company
  • Clarke Historical Library/CMU
  • National Network of Libraries of Medicine/GMR
  • Wolters Kluwer
  • Quinn Evans Architects
  • Kaplan Early Learning Company
  • AWE Digital Learning Solutions
  • Books Galore Inc.

2014 Awards

Two award programs are available during the Loleta Fyan Small and Rural Libraries Conference. The Small/Rural Library Excellence Award provides a cash award of $1,000 to the library that exemplifies excellence in customer service and community involvement. This award is sponsored by the Roger and June Mendel Fund. The Loleta Fyan Small/Rural Libraries Conference Awards provide recognition for the following categories: Outstanding Small/Rural Librarian, Trustee/Friend, and the Patron Services.  Past recipients are towards the bottom of this page. Nominations are due by February 15, 2014. 

2014 Logo Design Contest 

Congratulations to Rachael Birgy, the Youth Services Director, from Kalkaska County Library in Kalkaska, Michigan! Rachael's design was chosen as the logo for the 2014 Loleta Fyan Small and Rural Libraries Conference. We will feature Rachael's design on our printed program, bags, and website. Thanks to all the creative library staff from throughout the state that submitted designs for this year's contest. Rachael wins a complimentary registration for the conference for designing the winning logo this year. 

2014 Steering Committee members:

Technology - Trixie McMeeking
Awards - Natalie Bazan
Vendors - Sara Morrison and Angela Semifero
Hospitality - Glenda Middleton
Registration - Irene Bancroft
Local Arrangements - Jolene Michaels

2014 Award Winners

Trustee/Friend Award

The Trustee/Friend Award is given to a trustee of friend of a library for distinguished service to small/rural library development on the local, state, regional or national level.

2014 Friend Trustee Winners

Dan and Janice Schoonmaker of the Darcy Library of Beulah are the winners of the 2014 Trustee/Friend Award.

Outstanding Patron Services Award

The Outstanding Patron Services Award is given for exemplary patron service work by a small/rural library staff member.

2014 Patron Services Winner

Jacqueline Skinner of Otsego County Library is the winner of the 2014 Patron Services Award.

Outstanding Small/Rural Librarian Award

The Outstanding Small/Rural Librarian Award recognizes a librarian who is an outstanding leader in the profession, has made a significant contribution to his or her library and has invested him or herself in efforts to bring about positive change in the small/rural library community.


2014 Small Rural Librarian Winner

Sheila Bissonnette, Director of the Pere Marquette and Harrison District Libraries is the winner of the 2014 Outstanding Small/Rural Library Award. 

June B. Mendel Award for Excellence in Rural Library Service

(Formerly the Small/Rural Library Excellence Award)

The June B. Mendel Award is presented to a public library, serving fewer than 25,000 people, that provides exemplary service to their community.

2014 Mendel Award Winner

The Kalkaska County Library is the recipient of the 2014 June B. Mendel Award. 

The Library of Michigan Foundation generously supports the Rural Libraries Conference through administration of Loleta Fyan funds.  This project is also supported by the Library of Michigan with federal funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.  The Institute of Museum and Library Services is the primary source of federal support for the nation’s 122,000 libraries and 17,500 museums. The Institute's mission is to create strong libraries and museums that connect people to information and ideas.

Updated 05/06/15