close print view
Aquaculture Facility Registration
- Review the laws
applicable to aquaculture facilities.
- Print out the application
form, fill it out
and submit it, along with a check for $100 for new facilities or $75 for
renewal of existing facilities,
to Michigan Department of Agriculture, Animal Industry Division, PO Box
30017, Lansing, MI 48909
- If yours is a new facility, an MDA inspector
will contact you within 30 days of receipt of the application. He or
she will bring you a copy of the Great Lakes Fish Disease Control Policy
and Model Program booklet. You may find this booklet online here. While
at your facility, the inspector will fill out a report, a sample of which may be
found here. The inspector will be
primarily looking at containment barriers to ensure that they are adequate.
- Once completed, the inspector will return the report to the
MDA Animal Industry Division for a manager's review.
If there are any problems found either by the inspector or the manager, you
will be contacted and suggestions for improvement will be given and a
re-inspection date and time will be established. Once you've passed
inspection and managerial review you will be issued an official registration
by the State of Michigan.
- There are two inspections allowed per application. If the facility
doesn't pass those two inspections, a new application and fee will need to
- Registration is good for one year, expiring on
September 30th. If you do not renew by October 1st
of the next year, renewal will no longer be an option and the full $100 will
be needed to register your facility.
- When renewing your facility's registration, simply fill out the
application and send it in with a check for $75.