close print view
Can't find the answer to your licensing question here? Then Email us!
Types of licenses issued by the Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC)and the fees:
A Hotel, selling beer and wine for consumption on the premises only, a minimum fee of $250.00 per year and, for all bedrooms in excess of 20, $1.00 for each additional bedroom, but not more than $500.00 per year.
How can I obtain the MLCC Code, Rules and Related Laws publication?
Copies of the Michigan Liquor Control Code of 1998 and the Administrative Rules of the Commission are available for a $15.00 fee at any of the Commission's district offices. You may also request a copy by mail by sending a check made payable to the State of Michigan to the Michigan Liquor Control Commission, ATTN: CASHIER, 7150 Harris Drive, P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, MI 48909. The Code is also available at www.michigan.gov Office of Regulatory Reform.
What are the business hours of the Liquor Control Commission?
Business hours of the Lansing office of the Liquor Control Commission are: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday - Friday (closed on all State holidays). Note: For processing Licensing transactions, please allow extra processing time during the 12:00 - 12:30 p.m. lunch period - and arrive before 3:30 p.m. if needing a license transaction before the office closes in the evening (5 p.m.).
When transferring a license, how will I know if I am (my Corporation, Partnership, LLC is) liable for the previous owner's tax debt?
Requesting a Tax Clearance Certificate from the seller is always recommended. The seller would obtain this document from the Michigan Department of Treasury. There is no cost for this document and it provides proof that all taxes (up to the date of issue) have been paid. For more information, visit the Tax Clearance page on the Department of Treasury website.
Under what conditions would a transfer applicant be delayed due to the licensee's tax liability?
Each year the Michigan Department of Treasury sends the Liquor Control Commission a list of licensees with outstanding tax debt. A hold is placed on the renewal of these licenses and when the licensee tries to renew the license he or she (or the Corporation, Partnership, LLC) is unable to do so until the outstanding debt is paid (or a payment arrangement has been established with the Michigan Department of Treasury.) If a transfer application is received, no action will be taken on that application until the outstanding tax debt issue is resolved and the Department of Treasury clears the objection to renewal based on outstanding tax debt.
What type of financial documentation will I need to provide during the MLCC investigation?
Copies of original income tax returns for the past three years including forms 1040 and 1040a, Schedule C, and W-2 withholding statements. Bank books (savings and checking), savings bonds, other securities, and any other financial documents for funds being used in the transaction. If planning to obtain loan from bank or other lending institution, have the financial institution complete a Statement of Money Lender. LC-3008
What can I do if I am denied a license by the Commission?
If a license application is denied, the applicant may request an appeal hearing. The request must be made in writing to the Lansing office of the Commission within 20 days from the date of the denial letter which is mailed to the applicant. MLCC mailing address: Michigan Liquor Control Commission, 7150 Harris Drive, P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, Michigan 48909-7505.
What happens to a liquor license when a licensee dies?
If a licensee dies, the Commission may approve the operation of the establishment by a personal representative or independent personal representative duly appointed by a court of competent jurisdiction, pending the settlement of the estate of the deceased licensee. MCL 436.1501(2)
How much is my liquor license worth?
Many factors are involved in determining the market value of a liquor license or licensed business (such as, availability of licenses in the area). It is advisable to seek the assistance of a reputable business broker who deals with retail businesses to establish the value of a business with a liquor license.
Whom do I call to find out who holds a retail liquor license - and what information is available to the public regarding a licensed establishment?
Contact the Lansing office of the Liquor Control Commission at (866) 813-0011 and ask to be connected to the Records Unit of Licensing. Provide whatever information you have, such as the specific business address of the establishment you are interested in, the names of any individuals or corporations you think may be listed on the license, the last known assumed name of the business (e.g. Joe's Bar) and the dates in question (current licensee or specific dates in the past). Routine verbal requests for information may include the name a liquor license is issued in (if a corporate entity - names of stockholders); a business address; d.b.a.; types of licenses and permits issued; licensing history of the business; and pending requests (if needed, you may be transferred to the appropriate Licensing Unit for further information regarding the status of a pending request).
What information will not be released under the Michigan Freedom of Information Act?
Formal requests for documentation may be submitted in written form (requests received by electronic mail are considered written requests under the FOIA) and applicable FOIA fees will be assessed. Pursuant to the FOIA and advice from our Assistant Attorney General's Office, home addresses, personal telephone numbers, social security numbers, credit card account and bank account information and expunged conviction records (information regarding an individual's original conviction) are NOT released by the MLCC. Exemption from release of protected information is claimed pursuant to Sections 13(1)(a) and (x) of the FOIA, on the grounds that release of the information would constitute a clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy. Note: The MLCC does not maintain copies of the actual liquor licenses (which is often requested). Only one license is printed and provided to the licensee to display on the licensed premises. The Contract for License, however, contains the same information as the actual liquor license and a copy of this document is available upon request.How far back can I trace a liquor license?
The Commission's active records go back to 1935. We have information on all active licensees from that year to the present. The Commission maintains only the last ten years of records related to inactive businesses. We cannot trace the ownership of a liquor license that was transferred or terminated prior to ten years ago. County and municipal records may be helpful in tracing the ownership of the real estate associated with a particular business. MCL 436.1501(2).What does a Special License allow?
A Special License is a contract between the Commission and the special licensee (only a nonprofit organization) granting authority to sell beer, wine, mixed spirit drink, or spirits at retail for consumption on the premises only for a limited period of time. A Special License is good for one day. An organization can obtain up to twelve (12) Special Licenses per year after completing the Special License Application and receiving approval from the Commission. All profits derived from the sale of alcoholic liquor must go to the organization itself and not to any individual.
The only type of Special License available is for bona fide nonprofit organizations such as Veterans of Foreign Wars, Knights of Columbus, etc. Normally, if someone is having a function at a banquet hall, such as a wedding reception, and the host and/or guests are supplying the food and alcoholic beverages and there are no charges of any kind including any entry fee or donation, no type of liquor license is available or required. It is, however, recommended that those who contemplate such an activity contact the local law enforcement agency or prosecutor's office for any additional information, since they have jurisdiction in such matters.Do I have to provide liquor liability insurance or an acceptable alternative before I am granted a retail liquor license in Michigan?
Yes. See Publications - Proof of Financial Responsibility Description.Can I download the PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY (LC-95) form at the Michigan Liquor Control Commission web site?
Yes, this form may be downloaded from the Forms section.Who is authorized to sign the PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY (LC-95) form to verify I have obtained liquor liability insurance?
In general, your insurance agent is authorized to sign the LC-95 form; however, there are several insurance carriers who have requested that the MLCC only accept LC-95 forms signed by specific individuals in their company - so ask them to be sure.Must a PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY form be submitted each year?
Once a PROOF OF FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY form has been accepted and placed on file with the MLCC, it is considered to be continuous until canceled; therefore, unless a Notice of Cancellation or Termination is received in the Licensing Division of the MLCC, a new proof is not required.Why do I receive an Emergency Suspension Order 30 days before my insurance expires?
The Michigan Liquor Control Code requires a 30-Day Notice of Cancellation or Termination of any form of proof of financial responsibility. An Emergency Suspension Order is then processed to inform the licensee what will occur in the event the licensee does not meet the statutory requirements prior to the final cancellation date.What is the civil liability of a licensee with regard to injury claims?
Under 436.1801, Sec. 801(3) of the Liquor Control Code (Dram Shop section), a licensee may be held civilly liable for deaths and injuries associated with sales to minors or visibly intoxicated persons if the unlawful sale is proven to be a proximate cause of the damage, personal injury, or death of an individual.
Renewal applications are mailed by the middle of March each year, and are sent to the business address, unless a different mailing address is on file.I just received my license in (a specific month), do I still have to renew my license on May 1st - and are the fees prorated?
All licenses are effective May 1 through April 30 of every year, regardless of when the license is obtained. Pursuant to MCL 436.1525(2), the fees for the various types of licenses shall not be prorated for a portion of the effective period of the license.How long does it take to get my license after my Renewal Application is received at the Liquor Control Commission office?
Depending on the volume of applications received on a particular day, processing may take 2 - 3 business days. In most instances, however, renewal applications are processed the following day and mailed first class (mail delivery to areas outside the major metropolitan areas will take longer).
In cities, incorporated villages, or townships, only 1 specially designated distributor (SDD) license shall be issued by the commission for every 3,000 of population, or fraction thereof. The quota requirement may be waived at the discretion of the commission if there is no specially designated distributor licensee within 2 miles, measured along the nearest traffic route, of the applicant. MCL 436.1533 A public license shall not be granted for the sale of alcoholic liquor for consumption on the premises in excess of 1 license for each 1,500 of population or major fraction thereof. In-depth information regarding quotas is found in MCL 436.1531 of the Liquor Control Code.How do I place my license in escrow?
R436.1047, Rule 47 of the Administrative Rules of the Commission states: A licensee who ceases active operation of the licensed business for a period of more than 30 days shall return all current licenses and permits to the commission. Send your license to the Lansing office of the Commission (MLCC, 7150 Harris Drive, P.O. Box 30005, Lansing, MI 48909-7505) with a cover letter explaining the reason(s) for requesting the license be placed in escrow, along with your current home address and telephone number, to ensure you receive subsequent correspondence from the Commission with regard to the license(s). R 436.1047 - Return of licenses and permits.How do I get my license out of escrow?
Submit a written request to the Commission, asking that your license be released from escrow - and depending on the specific factors (how long the license has been in escrow, whether it needs to be renewed, whether we have an active proof of financial responsibility on file, whether a final inspection is needed, etc.), either the license will be sent to you - or you will be provided with instructions as to what needs to be accomplished prior to release of the license.What is an approved type business and what is the amount of inventory required?
R 436.1129 Specially designated merchant license; issuance and
Shelf price labels are available through:
With respect to Specially Designated Merchant (SDM) license applicants; the sale of gasoline is not prohibited pursuant to MCL 436.1541, if the population of the city, village or township is 3,500 or less, and the county population is 31,000 or more; or if the population of the city, village or township is 4,000 or less and the county population is less than 31,000, provided the applicant for license has and maintains a minimum inventory on the premises, excluding alcoholic liquor and motor vehicle fuel, of not less than $10,000, at cost, of those goods and services customarily marketed by approved types of businesses. In a township which is comprised of 72 square miles or more and which has a population of 7,500 or fewer people, the commission may, in its discretion, waive the provisions of subrule (3) of this rule if the applicant for a license has and maintains a minimum inventory on the premises, excluding alcoholic liquor, of not less than $10,000.00, at cost, of the goods and services customarily marketed by approved types of businesses. R 436.1129(5)
On-premises licensing rules allow for the Commission to issue up to 12 daily temporary dance, entertainment, or dance-entertainment permits, specific purpose permits, and temporary outdoor service permits to a licensee each calendar year upon written request of the licensee and approval of the chief law enforcement officer who has jurisdiction. R 436.1407, R 436.1419 and R 436.1437Does a Dance-Entertainment Permit allow Topless Activity?
No. Issuance of an entertainment permit (or a dance-entertainment permit) does not allow topless activity on the licensed premises. A Topless Activity Permit is required for any topless activity by female employees, entertainers, agents or contractors of the licensee or any female that is topless and acting under the control of or with the permission of the licensee. A licensee issued an Entertainment Permit under the provisions of Commission rule R436.1407, who did not have topless activity on the licensed premises prior to January 1, 1998, may not begin topless activity without making application for a Topless Activity Permit and obtaining appropriate approvals at the local level and by the Commission. MCL 436.1916Will my conviction record result in denial of my application?
A prior conviction record is not an automatic impediment to obtaining a liquor license. When applying for a license an individual should truthfully disclose all prior arrest and conviction information on the application forms. The individual will also be asked to divulge this information to an investigator from the Commission and may be asked to divulge this information at the local level. Each application is reviewed on a case-by-case basis by the Commission. The seriousness of the offenses committed, ones that involve the misuse of alcohol and violence as well as the total record of the applicant, are some of the specifics the Commission will take into consideration when making a determination as to suitability for licensure. R 436.1105(2)(g)Is it possible to transfer location of a license within a county?
Escrowed on-premises licenses may be transferred within any county in Michigan. The transfer of location must be approved by the local governing body where the license will be issued and the Commission must count that activated license against the local governing unit originally issuing the license.
PoliciesMichigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey
Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan