close print view
Governor Jennifer M. Granholm Declares June as Youth Employment Month in Michigan
MAY 30, 2003 - Governor Jennifer M. Granholm issued an Executive Declaration in observance of Youth Employment Month for June 2003 to educate employers about legal and safe working environments for the state's working teens. This summer approximately 355,300 teenagers aged 16-19 are expected to seek jobs in Michigan, and for many it will be their first jobs.
The Michigan Department of Consumer & Industry Services is kicking off a month-long campaign to educate employers about child labor laws. The CIS Bureau of Workers' & Unemployment Compensation's Wage and Hour Division is working in conjunction with the U.S. Department of Labor Wage & Hour Division as part of a national campaign by visiting employers to pass out materials and discuss legal aspects of employing minors in Michigan.
The educational campaign will include visits to retail and fast food establishments where the majority of teenagers are employed and to school districts which are responsible for distributing work permits.
According to the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH), approximately 70 teens die every year in the U.S. from work-related injuries. About 77,000 teens are injured enough to warrant a hospital emergency room visit.
"Even common occupations, such as fast food or warehouse work, can potentially be hazardous for teens because they often lack experience and are also less likely to challenge a supervisor about dangerous tasks or conditions. That's why employers, educators, parents and government agencies all have an important role in keeping Michigan teens safe and healthy on the job," Granholm said. "These early work experiences, even if they are for the summer months, are an investment in our state's future because our workforce learns early in life the importance of safety on the job."
CIS Director David C. Hollister said minors are required to have a work permit, which can be obtained in any Michigan local school district, intermediate school district, public school academy, or non public school. Generally, youths must be a minimum of 14 years old for most jobs, however children as young as 11 can work as a golf caddy or sports referee. Children 13 years old can work on farms.
Hollister said, "Michigan's child labor laws were created to ensure the safety and well-being of the state's youngest workers. It is important for employers to be educated about these laws particularly during summer months when more teens are joining the workforce to fill minimum wage jobs created by the increase in the state's tourism and recreational activities. "
Minors aged 14 and 15 can work from 7:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. while 16- and 17-year-olds can be employed between the hours of 6:00 a.m. until 10:30 p.m. (11:30 p.m on Friday or Saturday or when not regularly attending school) for up to 48 hours per week of school and work combined.
Michigan child labor law requires that minors not be allowed to work more than five hours without a 30 minute break period. Adequate adult supervision is also required for working minors. Minors can not work past sunset or 8 p.m., whichever is sooner, without adult supervision at a fixed location where cash transactions occur.
If you have questions about the Youth Employment Standards Act, contact the Wage and Hour Division at (517) 322-1825 or visit www.michigan.gov/bwuc and click on the Youth Employment icon on the left.
$ Child labor law requires that minors not be allowed to work more than five hours without a 30 minute break period.
$ Competent adult supervision is required for working minors.
$ The employment of minors in hazardous occupations such as those requiring driving, e.g. pizza delivery, the use of power driven machines, including bakery or meat processing machines, or chemicals marked "Danger" is prohibited.
$ Minors can not workpast sunset or 8:00 p.m., whichever is sooner, without adult supervision at a fixed location where cash transactions occur.
Requirements for 14- and 15-year-olds:
$ May work from 7:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. for up to 48 hours school and work combined per week under state law.*
$ May perform delivery or errand work by foot, bicycle and public transportation.
$ May do grounds maintenance using non-powered tools only.
$ May do kitchen work using paring knives and serrated edge knives.
$ May not operate lawn mowers and cutters, tractors or earth moving equipment and trenchers.
$ May not work in a confined space, such as a freezer/cooler.
$ May not use a ladder, scaffolds or substitutes.
Requirements for 16- and 17-year-olds:
$ May work between the hours of 6:00 a.m. until 10:30 p.m. (11:30 p.m. on Friday and Saturday nights) for up to 48 hours school and work combined per week.
$ May bag and carry out customer orders.
$ May do cashiering and sales, provided they don=t sell cigarettes or alcoholic beverages.
$ May do delivery and errand work by foot, bicycle or public transportation.
$ May not be employed in an occupation which requires driving a motor vehicle, except when such operation is occasional and incidental.
$ May not be employed for transportation of persons or property.
$ May not use hazardous substances or equipment.
If you have additional questions about the Youth Employment Standards Act, please contact the Wage & Hour Division at (517) 322-1825 or visit the web site at: http://www.michigan.gov/bwuc.
*Employers subject to federal law can only employ 14-year-olds until 9 p.m. from June 1 to Labor Day, otherwise it is 7 p.m. Employers subject to the federal law are those with a gross annual dollar volume of $500,000 or more or those who engage in interstate commerce.
> Governor's Proclamation - Youth Employment Month June, 2003
Michigan.gov Home LARA Home State Web Sites Office of Regulatory Reinvention Spending & Accountability
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan