Skip Navigation
Michigan Driver ResponsibilityMichigan.gov, Official Website for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home Driver Responsibility Home |  Site Map |  State Web Sites |  Contact Us
close print view

Offenses and Penalties

The Driver Responsibility Program calls for monetary sanctions for drivers who:

  • Accumulate seven or more points on their driving record (Category 1), or
  • Are convicted of specific qualifying offenses (Category 2)

Only driving offenses with arrest or incident dates on, or after, October 1, 2003, will be counted. Points accumulated prior to October 2, 2003 are not eligible for consideration under this new law.

Category 1 Points

Category 1 offenses, such as speeding, improper turns, and following too closely, are assessed a fee based on the number of points on the driving record, with a required minimum of seven points. The fees assessed begin at $100 and increase by $50 for each additional point above seven points.

7 Points $100
8 Points $150
9 Points $200
10 Points $250
11 Points $300
12 Points $350
13 Points $400
14 Points $450
15 Points $500

Drivers assessed a fee for seven or more points under Category 1 will be assessed only once per year. Category 1 fees will not be assessed in any year in which the number of points on a driving record falls below seven.

How to obtain a copy of your driving record.

Category 2 Offenses

Certain offenses are classified as "qualifying offenses" and carry their own driver responsibility fee independent from the number of points on the driving record. Drivers convicted of qualifying offenses will be assessed a driver responsibility fee of $150, $200, $500 or $1,000 for two consecutive years. The amount is determined by the relative seriousness of the offense. For example:

  • Drunk Driving (Operating While Intoxicated) = $1,000
  • Reckless Driving = $500
  • No Proof of Insurance = $200*
  • Drove While License Expired = $150*

Points from Category 2 offenses and convictions are NOT counted toward the point total for Category 1.

Multiple driver responsibility fees are assessed if a driver is convicted of multiple qualifying offenses under Category 2.

Driver responsibility fees are assessed for two consecutive years for Category 2 convictions. The second year's fees will be assessed on the anniversary date of the first year's fees.

See a list of Category 2 "Qualifying Offenses"

* Incident dates on or after 10/1/2012 will not have these fees accessed.

Fee Assessments and Payments

A driver may pay the driver responsibility fee assessments in full or enter into an approved installment agreement for up to 24 months. Failure to make timely payments will result in an indefinite suspension of a driver's license. A reinstatement fee of $125 is required before the license is reinstated.

Once a driver's license has been suspended for nonpayment of driver responsibility fees, under certain conditions driving privileges may be reinstated if a driver enters into an approved Installment Agreement with the Michigan Department of Treasury. The reinstatement fee of $125 may be included in the approved Installment Agreement.

Fee assessments apply to both licensed and unlicensed drivers.

More information about how to make a payment.


QR code

Michigan.gov Home |  Driver Responsibility Home |  Site Map
Privacy Policy |  Link Policy |  Accessibility Policy |  Security Policy | Michigan News | Michigan.gov Survey

Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan