Skip Navigation
MI.gov
Driver Responsibility - Driver Responsibility | Treasury Driver Responsibility | Treasury
Driver Responsibility | Treasury
Email this Page
Share this Link on Facebook
Tweet this page on Twitter!

No Proof of Insurance

Effective October 1, 2003 the Driver Responsibility Law (MCL 257.732a) imposes a fee on individuals who are convicted of certain qualifying violations, including failure to provide proof of insurance. On May 1, 2004, Public Act 52 of 2004 amends the Driver Responsibility law concerning No Proof of Insurance fees. On October 1, 2012, Public Act 255 of 2011 further amendments were made concerning No Proof of Insurance fees.

Providing Proof of Insurance to the court

If a driver provides proof of insurance to the court within the specified timeframe and still receives a notice of a Driver Responsibility Fee for No Proof of Insurance, the driver should re-contact the court. If a second notice is received after re-contacting the court you should be aware that if the matter is not resolved, or payment is not received within 30 days from the date of your second notice that your driving privileges will be suspended.

If the court dismisses the citation, the court will notify the Secretary of State. Subsequently, the Department of Treasury will issue a refund as long as there are no other outstanding debts on their records.

Stop Sign Please do not send your proof of insurance and/or dismissal papers from the court to the Michigan Department of Treasury. Proof of dismissal must come from the court via the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State will notify the Department of Treasury of the dismissal.

Payment information

The No Proof of Insurance fees for $200 and the No Proof of Insurance Under the Insurance Code for $500 will qualify for an installment agreement with repayment terms up to 24 months.

More information about how to make a payment.





Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan