Michigan Department of State

Consumers
Automotive
Information &
Complaint Kit

# When You Have A Complaint. . .

There is something you can do about misrepresentation, unsatisfactory repairs and unnecessary delays by an automobile dealer or repair shop in Michigan.

This brochure, published by Michigan's Department of State, tells you how to register a complaint about a repair job or new or used vehicle sale.

Since 1974, the Department of State has been responsible for licensing and regulating car dealerships and repair shops, investigating complaints and providing consumer information.

This brochure may help you resolve a complaint directly with the business involved. If you cannot reach a satisfactory settlement, you may fill out the attached form to receive assistance from the Department of State.

For further explanation of your rights as a consumer, refer to other sources of information listed on the back of this brochure.

## The First Step: Talk To The Manager

When you have a problem, talk to the owner or business manager about it right away. By doing so, you may be able to work out a settlement.

Keep these five points in mind when you talk to the business owner or manager:

- 1) Be courteous and calm.
- Explain the problem accurately. Provide dates, estimated or billed amounts and as many other facts as you can.
- State what you think is a fair settlement or correction.
- 4) State whether you are willing to negotiate; in many disputes neither side is 100 percent correct.

5) If you cannot get a satisfactory settlement, you may wish to tell the business that you will file a complaint with the state.

#### The Second Step: Contact The State

If you have talked to the owner or manager and have not reached a satisfactory settlement, contact the Department of State.

Use the attached form to briefly state your complaint. Attach **copies** of documents to the signed complaint and mail to the address on the bottom of the complaint form or fax to the telephone number indicated.

In some instances your complaint may be outside the department's authority to investigate. If so, you may be directed to another agency or to the court system. Additional sources of assistance and information are listed in this brochure.

If your complaint is within its authority, the department will investigate. A copy of your complaint may be forwarded to the business for its response.

The business may contact you to try to resolve your complaint. You may negotiate a settlement or wait for investigation. Please advise the department of any settlement you reach.

The department's goal is to give prompt, quality service. Complaints are usually investigated in the order in which they are received. An investigator will contact you by telephone, e-mail, mail, or in person to follow up.

Some complaints involve failure by a dealer to provide title in the purchaser's name or a dispute of a garage keeper's lien. In such cases, the department will attempt to contact you within a few days after receiving your complaint. Other issues may take longer to resolve.

#### **Automotive Repair Tips**

Under Michigan law, when you have repairs done to your vehicle or trailer, you have the right to:

- An itemized written estimate before any repairs are started that will cost \$20 or more.
- Know about and approve (or refuse) any work done beyond the estimate.
- Have repairs made by a Michigancertified mechanic.
- An itemized final bill.
- Receive or inspect all replaced parts.
   Be sure to ask for them when you pick up your vehicle.

If you believe that a shop is pressuring you into unnecessary repairs, insist on a written explanation of the problem. If the repair shop will not return your vehicle immediately when you refuse its recommended service, telephone the toll-free complaint line at 888-SOS-MICH or 888-767-6424.

#### **Buying A Vehicle**

When buying a vehicle from a dealer, consider the purchase price as well as the terms of finance, warranty, and the cost of a service contract and credit insurance.

Every used vehicle offered for sale by a dealership must have a "Buyers Guide" on a side window indicating if the vehicle is covered by a warranty. If you leave a deposit on a vehicle, you may not receive a refund if the purchase is not completed.

Dealers are required to apply for your title, purchase or transfer plates, collect 6 percent Michigan tax, provide mileage disclosure and give you copies of all documents at the time you sign them.

# MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF STATE AUTOMOTIVE COMPLAINT

Important! Copies of all invoices, receipts, and related documents must be attached. Remove credit card and personal account references on supporting documents. Please do not send original documents.

OFFICE USE ONLY

Business License #	Class Code License Name			Open Date Case #				
Office Close Date	Investigator	estigator			lose Date	Investigator		
\$ Recovered	Violations				Misc.			
\$ Recovered	Violations				Wilse.			
Mechanic #	Violations			Mechanic #		Violations		
						Telephone #	8a-5p:	
Your name and address:								
						Home/Cell:		
						Work Telepl	ione.	
						( )		
						E-mail Addı	ess:	
Name and address of the bus	iness or person you wish to	file a compla	aint about:					
						Business Te	lephone:	
						— ( )	d 14i4h 4 41	- 1
						- Persons you	dealt with at th	ie business:
						_		
Is your complaint regarding		ales? (circle o	ne) please o	complete prop				
Transaction Date:	EHICLE REPAIRS			Transaction		VEHICLE SAI	LES	
Vehicle Year:	Make: Mo	del:		Vehicle Ye	ar:	Make:	Model:	
Vehicle Number: (VIN)				Vehicle Number: (VIN)				
Circle all answers that apply to your repair transaction:				Circle all answers that apply to your sales transaction:				
Did you receive a written es	timate prior to repairs?	Yes	No		les Transaction:		C-1	I T
Did the facility only perform	n the repairs you authorized	l? Yes	No	Sale New	Sale Used	Odometer Rollback	Salvage Vehicle	Lease Vehicle
Did the facility provide you with a final invoice?		Yes	No	Did you ge	Did you get copies of the documents you signed? Yes No			No
Do you have the parts the facility replaced? Yes No			Did you get more than one temporary registration? Yes No					
Briefly describe your comp	plaint below or attach you	ır letter of co	mplaint:					
						(Use back	side if more sp	ace is needed.)
Please suggest a fair settle	ment:					•		
Your Signature:						ate:		

Return by mail: Michigan Department of State, Office of Investigative Services, P.O. Box 30046, Lansing, MI 48909-7546 Return by fax: 517-335-3192 website: www.Michigan.gov/sos



### Other Sources for Answers to Auto-related Questions

Subject	Agency to Contact				
Auto design and equipment (unsafe or defective), recalls	National Highway Traffic Safety Administration Washington, D.C. 20590 Auto Safety Toll-free Telephone: 888-327-4236 www.nhtsa.gov				
Driver's license, vehicle title and registration	Contact the Department of State at 888-SOS-MICH or 888-767-6424 or at www.Michigan.gov/sos) or visit a Secretary of State office				
Auto insurance coverage problems and sales contract disputes	Department of Insurance and Financial Services P.O. Box 30220 Lansing, MI 48909-7720 Telephone: 877-999-6442 www.Michigan.gov/difs				
"Lemon Law" and unresolved warranty issues	Michigan Attorney General Consumer Protection Division P.O. Box 30213 Lansing, MI 48909-7713 Telephone: 877-765-8388 www.Michigan.gov/ag				
New vehicle warranties, questions on warranty coverage, claims	If your dealer cannot help, contact the manufacturer's regional office. (See owners manual or ask dealer.) Better Business Bureaus can also handle some warranty complaints.				

# Additional automotive brochures available online from the Department of State:

Auto Repair Rights & Repair Tips

Consumers Guide to Automatic
Transmission Service

Consumers Guide to Brake Repair Service

Consumers Guide to Buying a Vehicle from a Dealership

Consumers Guide to Collision Repairs

Consumers Guide to Engine Replacement

Consumers Guide to Vehicle Leasing

Consumers Guide to Vehicle Restoration

Visit the Secretary of State website, www.Michigan.gov/sos, for complete information.

Office of Investigative Services Michigan Department of State P.O. Box 30046 Lansing, MI 48909-7546 Telephone: 888-SOS-MICH or 888-767-6424 Fax: 517-335-3192 www.Michigan.gov/sos

