

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

MICHAEL P. FLANAGAN STATE SUPERINTENDENT

January 10, 2013

MEMORANDUM

RICK SNYDER

GOVERNOR

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents and Public School Academy Directors

FROM: Sally Vaughn, Ph.D. Why Deputy Superintendent/Chief Academic Officer

SUBJECT: Educator Certificate Renewal and Advancement

In March 2011, the state Auditor General's office issued an audit report of the Michigan Department of Education's (MDE) Office of Professional Preparation Services (OPPS), which included a finding and recommendation that "OPPS improve its certification reporting process to ensure that it identifies all school district teachers who have not renewed their teaching certifications or who have pending credentials greater than 90 days."

The guidance contained in this memo is part of OPPS's improved certification reporting process. The purpose of the guidance is to ensure timely processing of educator certificates and to avoid any lapse in validity which may jeopardize an educator's employment and/or result in a State Aid penalty for the employing school district. The employing school district is required by law to ensure that teachers are properly certificated. In addition, the Revised School Code, Act 451 of 1976 Section 380.1532(1), states that a teaching certificate is valid only if the certificate is signed and notarized, and a copy is filed with the superintendent of schools of the school district in which the teacher expects to teach.

The School Aid Act (M.C.L § 388.1763 – Sec. 163 of Act 207 of P.A. 1990) states that a district that employs a teacher, administrator, or counselor who is not legally certificated in the subject areas and grade levels to which they are assigned shall have deducted the sum equal to the amount paid that individual for the period of non-certification or illegal employment. The school official who knowingly places an individual in that position may also be subject to a \$1,500 fine.

Michigan educator certificates expire on June 30 of a given year. The only exceptions include Temporary Teacher Employment Authorizations (one year validity), Two-year Extended Provisional Certificates (two year validity), and Continuing/Permanent Certificates, which remain valid indefinitely.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

JOHN C. AUSTIN – PRESIDENT • CASANDRA E. ULBRICH – VICE PRESIDENT RICHARD ZEILE – NASBE DELEGATE • MICHELLE FECTEAU LUPE RAMOS-MONTIGNY • KATHLEEN N. STRAUS DANIEL VARNER • EILEEN LAPPIN WEISER Page 2 January 10, 2013

Educators and employers can verify a certificate's expiration by utilizing the Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS) or the Michigan educator public credential search:

www.michigan.gov/moecs https://mdoe.state.mi.us/MOECS/PublicCredentialSearch.aspx

CURRENT ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

Provisional Certificate Holders

A teacher who holds a Michigan Provisional Certificate that expires June 30, 2013, must have completed the required semester credit hours to renew (9 for a first renewal or 18 for a second renewal). To advance to the Professional Education Certificate the teacher must have completed the credit requirement, experience requirement, and reading requirements. For detailed information on Provisional Certificate renewal requirements or advancement to the Professional Education Certificate, please reference the *Michigan Facts on Educator Certification* document found on the MDE website:

www.michigan.gov/teachercert

Note: A teacher with an expired certificate cannot be in a classroom teaching assignment, including teaching summer school.

New rules regarding the Provisional Certificate renewal and advancement to the Professional Education Certificate do NOT take effect until September 1, 2013, and therefore do not impact current Provisional Certificate holders with a June 30, 2013, expiration date.

Professional Education Certificate Holders

A teacher who holds a Michigan Professional Education Certificate that expires June 30, 2013, has a new option for renewal. As of May 18, 2012, the Michigan Professional Education Certificate can be renewed by completing one of the following, or a combination thereof that is equivalent to 6 semester credit hours:

- 6 semester hours in a planned course of study, or 6 semester credit hours appropriate to the grade level and content area of the certificate/endorsement, at any four-year or community college listed in the Directory of Michigan Institutions of Higher Education. *
- 180 State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECHs).
- 150 annual District Provided Professional Development (DPPD) hours in accordance with Michigan School Code Section 380.1527. The form is available in the MOECS.
- * Credits completed at approved out-of-state four-year Educator Preparation Institutions (EPIs) are also acceptable.

Page 3 January 10, 2013

Semester credits, SCECHs or DPPD must have been completed within the five year period preceding the date of application and after the issue date of the previous certificate.

REVISED ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

The following are changes that take effect on **September 1, 2013**, under the new Administrative Rules that govern teacher certification:

Provisional Teaching Certificate Renewals

First renewals of Provisional Certificates will require one <u>or</u> a combination of the following:

- Completion of 6 semester hours in a planned program from an approved educator preparation institution since the issue date of the initial Provisional Certificate. Previous rules required 9 semester hours.
- Completion of 180 SCECHs in approved professional development activities appropriate to the grade level and content endorsement(s) of the certificate held. The 180 clock hours must be earned since the issue date of the initial Provisional Certificate. Previous rules only allowed semester credit hours to renew.
- Combination of the semester credit hours and SCECHs since the issue date of the initial Provisional Certificate (1 semester credit hour = 30 SCECH).

Second renewals of Provisional Certificates will require one <u>or</u> a combination of the following:

- Completion of 6 semester hours in a planned program from an approved educator preparation institution since the issue date of the first Provisional Certificate renewal. Previous rules required 18 semester hours earned since the issue date of the initial Provisional Certificate.
- Completion of 180 SCECHs in approved professional development activities appropriate to the grade level and content endorsement(s) of the certificate held. The 180 clock hours must be earned since the issue date of the first Provisional Certificate renewal. Previous rules only allowed semester credit hours to renew.
- Combination of the semester credit hours and SCECHs since the issue date of the first Provisional Certificate renewal (1 semester credit hour = 30 SCECH).

Professional Teaching Certificates

To advance from the initial Provisional Certificate to the Professional Education Certificate an applicant will be required to present evidence that he or she has completed at least three years of successful teaching experience and one <u>or</u> a Page 4 January 10, 2013

combination of the following since the issue date of the initial Provisional Certificate <u>and</u> within the five year period preceding the date of application:

• 6 semester hours in a planned program at an approved EPI or six semester credit hours of academic credit appropriate to the grade level and content endorsement(s) of the certificate at any approved college or university.

Previous rules required the completion of 18 semester hours in a planned program.

Note: Master's degrees earned prior to initial certification cannot be utilized.

• 180 SCECHs in approved professional development activities appropriate to the grade level and content endorsement(s) of the certificate. This option was not available under previous rules.

Note: 1 semester credit hour equals 30 SCECHs. State Board Continuing Education Units (SB-CEUs) have been replaced with SCECHs. 1 SB-CEU is equal to 10 SCECHs.

- 150 District Provided Professional Development (DPPD) clock hours completed through professional development programs that are appropriate to the grade level and content endorsement(s) of the certificate. A maximum of 30 hours can be earned per year over the course of five years. This option was not available under previous rules.
- Combination of the above three equal to 180 clock hours. This option was not available under previous rules.
- Note: Applicants will still be required to complete Michigan's reading requirement of 6 semester credit hours of reading methods for an elementary level certificate or 3 semester credit hours of reading methods for a secondary level certificate. Applicants must also complete 3 semester credit hours in an approved course of study in the diagnosis and remediation of reading disabilities and differentiated instruction. This is the same as the requirements under previous rules.

Advanced Professional Education Certificate (optional)

Starting September 1, 2013, a teacher may apply for an Advanced Professional Education Certificate, which is valid for five years. The applicant must:

- Hold the Professional Education Certificate.
- Hold a National board certification or have completed a teacher leader training or preparation program approved by MDE.
- Have received five consecutive "effective" or "highly effective" ratings on annual teacher evaluations in the most recent 5-year period.

An educator may apply for a renewal or advancement in certification any time after January 1 of the year in which his/her certificate expires. Start the New Year off by

Page 5 January 10, 2013

renewing your license today! The MOECS is now accessible to those whose license expires June 30, 2013.

Please direct questions related to educator certificate renewal or advancement to the Office of Professional Preparation Services at 517-373-3310 or <u>MOECSSupport@michigan.gov</u>.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance