MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF STATE

Disability Parking Placard Application

	Office Use Only:
Expiration	
Date:	
Placard	
Number:	

Directions:

Applicants please complete and sign Part 1. Your physician, chiropractor, optometrist, nurse practitioner, or physician's assistant must complete Part 2 and the certification on the bottom of this page. If you also qualify for free parking, your physician, chiropractor, optometrist, nurse practitioner, physician's assistant, or physical therapist must also complete Part 3. Organizations applying for parking placards to provide transportation services for disabled persons complete Part 4. Completed applications may be presented at any Secretary of State branch office or mailed to the address on the reverse side of this form. (Application cannot be processed without signed release of information and physician's certification.)

Part 1: Release of Information and Signature

I am applying for a disability parking placard as provided in Public Act 300 of 1949. I authorize the release of the medical information described below to the Michigan Department of State. I certify the information is true and realize by making a false statement on this application I am subject to the penalties described on the reverse side of this form.

> PLEASE **PRINT** OR **TYPE** INFORMATION REQUESTED Asterisks (*) indicate required fields.

Name (First, Middle, Last)*		Date of Birth*	Mi	Michigan Driver's License or State ID Card #	
Street Address*		County*		Disability Plate Number (if any)*	
City, State, Zip*		Daytime Phone Number*		Last Parking Permit Number	
Signature of Disabled Person* X	Today's Date*	Ar	re you a Michigan resident?* YES NO		
Signature of Representative (If presented by repres	entative)*		Re	epresentative's Driver's License Number*	
Part 2: Medical Eligibility Standards and The Michigan Vehicle Code [MCL 257.19a] states in practitioner, physical therapist, or optometrist identical all letters that apply*	that a disabled person be entifying one or more of t	determined by a licens	istics which affect yo	our patient's ability to walk.	
a) Blindness. Corrected acuity level:		20/	-		
b) An inability to walk more than 200 feet with	out having to stop and re	est. Please provide the	diagnosis for this an	nbulatory disability:	
c) Patient must use a wheelchair, walker, crutc Describe:	·	•			
 Patient has a lung disease from which the fo which the arterial oxygen tension is less than 		•	neasured by spiromo	etry, is less than one liter, or from	
e) Patient has a cardiovascular condition which incapable of meeting a minimum standard for Michigan Department of Health and Human	or cardiovascular health e			•	
f) Patient has an arthritic, neurological, or orth Describe:	•	verely limits ability to v	valk.		
g) Patient has persistent reliance upon an oxyg	en source other than ord	inary air			

Physician's Certification A parking placard will be issued solely on the physician's evaluation						
Patient's condition is*: Permanent Temporary If temporary, estimated duration:months (maximum 6 months)						
Physician's Name*		Medical Specialty*		Office Telephone*		
Street Address*		City, State, Zip*		Office Fax*		
I certify the person listed above is eligible for a disability placard as provided in Public Act 300 of 1949. I also understand that making a false statement to obtain a disability parking placard is a misdemeanor and may result in fines, imprisonment, or both.						
Medical License Number**	Physician's Signature*				Date*	
	x					

BFS-108 (10/19/2023) Page 1

^{**}If the medical license was issued in a state other than Michigan, the Physician/Physical Therapist must submit a copy of their medical license. NOTE: If the individual listed above is also eligible for free parking, Part 3 on the reverse side of this application must also be completed.

Part 3: Free Parking Application and Physician's Certification

(Complete Parts 1, 2, and 3)

The free parking application is completed **only when the applicant qualifies for free parking**. To qualify, <u>your patient must be a Michigan licensed driver</u>, have an ambulatory disability described in Part 2, and have one of the following conditions. Economic need is not a consideration.

Circle all letters that apply:

- a) The patient cannot insert coins or tokens in a parking meter or cannot accept a ticket from a parking lot machine due to a lack of fine motor control of both hands.
- b) The patient cannot reach above their head to a height of 42 inches from the ground, due to a lack of finger, hand, or upper extremity strength or mobility.
- c) The patient cannot approach a parking meter due to use of a wheelchair or other ambulatory device.
- d) The patient cannot walk more than twenty feet due to an orthopedic, cardiovascular, or lung condition in which the degree of debilitation is so severe that it almost completely impedes the patient's ability to walk. (A condition requiring applicant to rest after walking twenty feet when not using a wheelchair or other ambulatory device.)

I certify the person listed on the front of this application is also eligible for free parking as provided in state law [MCL 257.675]. I understand that making a false statement to obtain a free parking sticker is a misdemeanor and may result in fines, imprisonment, or both.

Physician's signature: X			Date		
(Physician / Chiropractor / Physic	cian's Assistant / Optometrist / Nur	se Practitioner / Physical Therapi	st)		
Part 4: Organization Request for Disabi	lity Parking Placards				
	PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE INFO	ORMATION REQUESTED			
Name of Organization	FEIN	County	Telephone Number		
Street Address	City, State, Zip	City, State, Zip			
Describe the transportation services your organization	provides to persons with disak	pilities:			
Number of disability placards you are requestir	ng: (No i	more than one per vehicl	e used to transport clients.)		
I am applying for a disability parking placard as	provided in Public Act 300	of 1949 and certify the a	bove information is true.		
Signature of Organization Officer X	Printed Name of Or	ganization Officer	Date		
Organization Officer's Driver's License Number	Position (Title) With	Position (Title) Within Organization			
·					

Penalties

Michigan Vehicle Code Section 257.676 prohibits:

cancellation.

• Using a disability parking placard to park in a designated parking space unless the disabled person is driving or being transported.

Note: If the organization ceases to provide specialized services to disabled persons, the parking placard must be returned to the Secretary of State for

- Altering, modifying, or selling a disability parking placard or free parking sticker.
- Copying or forging, or using a copied or forged disability parking placard or free parking sticker.
- Making a false statement to obtain a disability parking placard or free parking sticker or committing a deception or fraud on a medical statement attesting to a disability.
- Knowingly using or displaying a disability parking placard that has been canceled by the Secretary of State.

A violation is a misdemeanor and punishable by a fine up to \$500 or imprisonment for up to 30 days, or both. A law enforcement officer may immediately confiscate a disability parking placard for improper use.

Return completed applications to any Secretary of State branch office or mail to:

Michigan Department of State Internal Services Section PO Box 30764 Lansing, MI 48918

If you have any questions regarding disability parking placards, please call the Department of State Information Center at 1-888-767-6424.

The personally identifiable information collected on this form will be used by MDOS to complete the requested transaction. MDOS limits the amount of personally identifiable information to only that information which is relevant and necessary to complete your transaction. Please be aware that under the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. 2751, et seq. and the Michigan Driver's Protection law, MCL 257.208c, your personal information may be provided to third parties without additional prior notice or consent when permitted or required by law. As a public body, MDOS is subject to the Michigan Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), MCL 15.231 et seq., and information such as a name or address may be disclosed in response to a FOIA request pursuant to law.