Skip Navigation
Michigan Department of Human, Official Website for the State of Michigan Home
close print view

Foster Care Payment Eligibility and Rates

Foster care payment eligibility by placement types are as follows:
  • Licensed DHS or private agency foster home (1 - 4 children) or foster family group home (5 - 6 children) - Foster care payments are based on the age of the child and any special services provided to the child.
  • Residential child caring institution (non-profit) - Foster care payments range from $130 to $400 per day.
  • Independent Living (child's own residence) is available for certain youths ages 16 and older - An independent living allowance is provided.
  • Child's family or legal guardian - No foster care payments.
  • Child's relative's home - Foster care payments may be provided if the home is licensed or if parental rights have been terminated.

For current Foster Care rates, click here.


QR code Home
PoliciesMichigan Survey

Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan