close print view
Statewide seat belt enforcement continues through holiday weekendContact:
Melody Kindraka, OHSP, (517) 241-1522
As travel heats up over Memorial Day weekend, the annual Click It or Ticket
campaign continues through June 3. Law enforcement officers from 160 agencies in 26 counties across the state will have additional officers conducting safety belt enforcement zones as well as evening traffic patrols.
In 2011, seat belt use dropped to 94.5 percent, down from the high of 97.9 percent in 2009. Seat belt use in the state is lowest among pickup truck drivers and their front seat passengers at 89 percent. Even with more than 90 percent of motorists buckling up, it means more than 350,000 people regularly risk their lives by not taking a few seconds to buckle up.
"The holiday is fast approaching so we are encouraging people to drive safely and ensure everyone is buckled up," said Michael L. Prince, director of the Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning.
Last year, nine people died over the Memorial Day holiday period. Of those, three were not wearing a seat belt.
Michigan law requires drivers and passengers 15 and younger in any seating position to be buckled up. Children must be in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4 feet 9 inches tall.
The traffic enforcement effort is entirely supported by federal traffic safety funds. A list of planned safety belt enforcement zones is available at www.michigan.gov/ohsp.