close print view
Motor Bus - Add Additional Vehicle(s)
The Michigan Department of Transportation issues
Motor Bus Certificate of Authorities to persons/entities that operate buses
A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:
Motor Bus Add Vehicles to a Certificate of Authority
B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
Motor Bus Transportation Act, Public Act 432 of 1982, as amended. MCL 474.101-139 Web Site: http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-act-432-of-1982.pdf
C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:
Regulations: MCL 474.131 adopts certain Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations being 49 C.F.R. parts 382, 387, 390-393, 395-397 including appendices C, D, E, and G. Web Site: http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/rules-regulations/administration/fmcsr/fmcsrguide.asp?section_type=A
D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:
1. Applicability (activities that require the permit)
The Motor Bus Transportation Act 432 PA 1982, as amended, requires any person engaged in the transportation by motor bus for hire upon the public highways of this state, either directly or through any device or arrangement, to first obtain a certificate from the Department of Transportation and receive registration decals for each bus. A motor bus is defined as a self-propelled motor vehicle designed or used to transport more than 15 passengers and their baggage for hire upon any public highway of this state.
2. Pre-Application Requirements
Annual safety inspections conducted by other states/provinces may be used
for carriers physically located outside the state of
Photocopies of current equipment inspections from the Michigan State Police (yellow and black school buses only) will be accepted.
For any other bus inspection process required see further below.
3. Application Submission Requirements
The following steps must be completed correctly in order to add a bus to your Certificate of Authority. Following completion of these steps the bus will be added to your authority and a registration decal will be forwarded to you.
Documents to be provided:
A. The carrier must completely fill out the Roster information found on Form 3065 http://mdotwas1.mdot.state.mi.us/public/webforms/public/3065.pdf
B. Copy of the completed vehicle safety inspection only if done by another state or school buses.
C. Provide a copy of the proof of insurance issued by your insurance carrier/agent.
D. Submit Filing Fees made out to
the "State of
For Michigan Carriers,
Upon receipt of (1) equipment vehicle roster, (2) certificate of insurance, and (3) applicant filing fees, the carrier will be contacted by a MDOT safety inspector to arrange an appointment for the vehicle inspection.
4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
Processing of a completed roster usually takes from 1 to 2 weeks. A carrier may not commence intrastate operations until the decals are issued. To avoid processing delays, please insure that all fields in the roster are answered, required documents and fees are included.
5. Operational Requirements
Each motor bus operated by the motor carrier shall pass an annual safety inspection which meets the department's specifications for safe operating character and condition and properly display a valid registration decal.
Each motor carrier thru their insurance provider shall maintain and provide continuous insurance coverage as required by MCL 474.109.
$25.00 per motor bus.
7. Appeal Process
8. Public Input Opportunities
E. Contact Information:
September 15, 2010
Michigan.gov Home State Web Sites Site Map
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan