close print view
Lottery RetailerAgency: Lottery
The Bureau of State Lottery is responsible for licensing retailers to sell Lottery tickets in order to maximize net revenue. To accomplish this, the Bureau processes applications and issues licenses or notice of rejection to applicants in accordance with applicable laws, rules and regulations.
B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:
D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:
1. Applicability (activities that require the permit)
A License is required for the sale of Lottery tickets in the State of Michigan.
2. Pre-Application Requirements
Any person who is 18 years of age or older and a Retailer in the State of Michigan may submit an application for licensure as a lottery retailer in accordance Act 239 of the Public Acts of 1972, and requirements of the Lottery's licensing procedures, except no person may submit an application that: will be engaged primarily in the business of selling lottery tickets only, or an employee of the Michigan Lottery or resides in the same household as an employee of the Michigan Lottery.
The Commissioner or their designee may license those persons who, in their opinion, will best serve the public interest, convenience, and public trust in the Lottery and promote the sales of Lottery tickets. Before issuing or renewing a license, the Commissioner may consider factors including, but not limited to, the following: the financial responsibility and security of the applicant and their business or activity, the accessibility of the place of business or activity to all the public, the sufficiency of existing Lottery retailers to serve the public convenience, the expected sales volume of lottery tickets, and the ability to offer a high level of customer service to lottery players.
Applicants do not have to hire a consultant for assistance with the license application process.
3. Application Submission Requirements
Submission of a completed Lottery Licensing Application packet and the non-fundable $150 application fee.
4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
The Bureau of State Lottery wishes to advise all applicants for licenses and/or changes of ownership not to invest any money or commit themselves by any binding agreements in the expectation of being issued a license or approval of a change of ownership until officially notified by the Lottery that their application has been approved.
The application process is as follows:
The retail applicant submits a completed licensing application packet including the non-refundable $150 application fee.
The Lottery conducts a background investigation on the applicants. The background investigation includes a credit history check, a tax record check, and a criminal history check. Most applicants with an acceptable credit history and no criminal record that would adversely affect the integrity of the Lottery may be licensed. ANY CRIMINAL RECORD MUST BE DISCLOSED ON PERSONAL DATA SHEETS.
A copy of a bill of sale or other proof of ownership must be provided before a license will be issued.
The retail applicant will be notified once a terminal becomes available.
5. Operational Requirements
Licensed Retailers must meet the weekly sales amount of $500 to maintain licensure, and operate in accordance with all applicable laws, rules, and regulations.
There is a one-time processing fee of $150, due at time of application. The installation fee for equipment is $550 and is due when Lottery sales begin. The annual license renewal fee is waived if the Retailer is not on a probationary status with the Bureau.
7. Appeal Process
Licensing and conference appeals shall be addressed to the Commissioner and mailed to the attention of Retailer Services, Bureau of State Lottery, 101 E. Hillsdale, Lansing, MI 48909 or faxed to (517) 241-0645.
8. Public Input Opportunities
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan