close print view
Limousine - Add Additional VehiclesThe Michigan Department of Transportation issues Limousine Certificate of Authorities to persons/entities that operate limousines for-hire on
A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:
Limousine - Adding Additional Vehicles
B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
Limousine Transportation Act, Public Act 271 of 1990, as amended. MCL 257.1901-1939
C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:
Regulations Adopted: None
D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:
1. Applicability (activities that require the permit)
Any vehicle, regardless of body style, designed or used to transport 15 passengers or less (including the driver) where the public can hire the carrier to transport a passenger over the public highways of the state of
2. Pre-Application Requirements
Each limousine must pass an annual safety inspection by a currently certified mechanic at a registered repair facility on an MDOT form 3049 or 3049E http://mdotwas1.mdot.state.mi.us/public/webforms/public/3049E.pdf If there is more than one vehicle, each vehicle requires its own inspection form. If a vehicle does NOT pass the inspection, it must be repaired and re-inspected as necessary to pass an inspection. Vehicles that fail the inspection cannot be registered. Every passed inspection is valid for one (1) year. Repair facility and mechanics requirements are on page 2 of the form. Copies of the vehicle safety inspection form can also be received by calling (517) 241-0679 or (517) 241-0680.
D. Certificate of Insurance: You must submit a Certificate of Michigan No-Fault Insurance for each limousine being added.
3. Application Submission Requirements
The following steps must be completed correctly in order to add limousine to your Certificate of Authority. Following completion of these steps the limousine will be added to your authority and a registration decal will be forwarded to you.
Documents to be provided:
A. The carrier must completely fill out the Roster information found on Form 3002 http://mdotwas1.mdot.state.mi.us/public/webforms/public/3002.pdf
B. The completed safety inspection signed by a company official.
C. Provide a copy of the proof of insurance issued by your insurance carrier/agent.
D. Submit Filing Fees made out to the "State of
Failure to provide all of the requested information may result in the return of the above which may result in time delays.
4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
Processing of a completed roster usually takes from 1 to 2 weeks. A carrier may not commence intrastate operations until the decals are issued. To avoid processing delays, please insure that all information is filled in, required documents are included.
5. Operational Requirements
Each limousine operated by the limousine carrier shall pass an annual safety inspection which meets the department's specifications for safe operating character and condition and display a valid registration decal.
Each motor carrier thru their insurance provider shall maintain and provide continuous insurance coverage as required by the Limousine Transportation Act.
$50.00 per limousine to be operated.
7. Appeal Process
8. Public Input Opportunities
E. Contact Information:
September 15, 2010
Michigan.gov Home State Web Sites Site Map
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan