close print view
Hospice Residence Program LicenseAgency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
The Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Health Care Services issues licenses to applicants interested in operating a Licensed Hospice Residence and are required to have been licensed as a hospice program pursuant to Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended. They must be in compliance with the conditions and standards set forth in the Conditions of Participation for Medicare Hospice Certification (42 CFR, Part 418) for not less than two years immediately preceding the date of application for licensure. Additionally, to qualify as a hospice residence, the program must be in compliance with the Life Safety Code and Construction/Design Requirements set forth in Public Act 368 of 1978, as amended.
New! Applications for these tasks are submitted and paid for online through the Michigan Business One Stop portal.
Health Facility License -- Hospice Residence
B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:
C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:
D. SUMMARY OF LICENSE/APPROVAL PROCESS:
1. Applicability (activities that require the license)
To serve patients that have been diagnosed with terminal illness and choose to receive hospice care in a hospice residential setting.
2. Pre-Application Requirements
Owner must have been a licensed provider of hospice care (continuously) for the prior two years. Medical staff and services ready.
3. Application Submission Requirements
4. Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval
1-2 weeks after occupancy is approved, a pre-licensure evaluation visit is conducted by hospice survey team. License issued after Pre-licensure survey conducted before patients are seen. 1-2 weeks before facility is ready to see patients.
5. Operational Requirements
Patient care plan directed by licensed physicians/nurses and license.
Waived at this time.
7. Appeal Process
8. Public Input Opportunities
Revised: September 2013
Copyright © 2001-2013 State of Michigan